We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Noodle House

Saigon Noodle House
2401 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
250-703-0001
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 120 Restaurants in Courtenay
Restaurant details
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always a treat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Since I know nothing about authentic Vietnamese food, this place has me hooked on what they offer! I love the simplified menu, assured of my favourite when I remember 14C... vermicelli noodles on lettuce with cucumbers and shredded carrots, with a side of spring rolls. A huge portion makes for take away every time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Black Creek, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We regularly enjoy a meal here as the service is friendly and the food is delicious. There is a good selection but we love the A3 as it includes 2 spring rolls, a crunchy salad bowl with bean sprouts topped by grilled pork. We have also enjoyed the curried vegetable and chicken dish. It has recently closed for renovations and we are looking forward to visit it once again as soon as it reopens. It is very popular as the meals are reasonably priced and delicious. Great value and friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, decent price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't say their food is authentic Vietnamese food (ie. pineapple on grilled chicken on rice #16 with a Thai chili sauce out of a bottle on top) but I always come back because the price isn't bad and the service is good... And honestly, this is the closest thing to a Vietnamese meal in the Valley. I am of Vietnamese decent and grew up in the lower mainland where there is an abundance of Great Vietnamese restaurants and this wouldn't fare well against those restaurants. However, it's an honest and small family run restaurant with a great owner and the food is tasty... Just not completely authentic in my opinion. The pho could use for some more beef and thicker tendon and I always judge a Vietnamese restaurant from this, first and foremost.

Side note: I come here almost weekly and will bring my friends from the mainland to try their food - and the general census is that it's decent!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DONT FORGET TO BRING CASH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Awesome place in town! don't take visa or interact mind you! I have been orderig the salad roles and 14b for over 8 years now! can't get enough!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic Vietnamese food at a great price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I went here ate one night for some pho. I was really impressed with the price of all their dishes. I could only try one but I got a pho soup and loved it. Great portion and great taste. My only complaint is that they only take cash. Screwed me up the first time I went there for food.

Give this place a shot if you like South East Asian food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Noodle House also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Saigon Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Noodle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.