We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort

Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort
209 Van Horne St S, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 6R9, Canada
250.417.0444
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 85 Restaurants in Cranbrook
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The restaurant at this hotel and resort is terrible. Had dinner in the lounge with our cocktails Another disaster on this trip with the martini. The young girl making it obviously doesn't know how to make a dry martini. Dinner was so bad didn't eat it. I ordered pasta and it arrived on a large platter with mounds of terrible tasting hamburger sauce that tasted more like dog food smells. So decided to order dessert. The menu said home made pies well the apple pie I ordered came from Safeway. No way was it home made

Had breakfast in the dining room this morning and another disaster. The potatoes were swimming in grease along with the eggs. Coffee was good as was the toast but the little pkgs of jam were old and rubbery

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Ric's Grill is now in this hotel. The food is delicious although bring your wallet. Its expensive. Dress casual or dress up.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“2012.... NO INTERNET”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

As someone who travels for work on a regular basis, I have certain expectations. This hotel is clean, the front desk staff is quite friendly and the food is ok. They have spent money on nice mouldings and some decent furniture but the REALLY drop the ball with the cheapest Internet service possible. They show a full signal to your computer but it takes five minutes to open a page. I travel to some remote areas with my job and never encounter this weak service. To make things worse, the rates are exceptionally high for this part of the country. The owners should really fire the current Internet provider and spend a few bucks on something that the guests will appreciate.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Don't Go There”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

My husband and I thought we'd give this place another try after having a horrible dinner here about a hear ago. We decided to order a couple of appetizers to start. There were about 10 different items to choose from. The waitress came back to tell us they were out of the ones we wanted. We chose again. She returned again to tell us they were out of those also. We chose again, she again returned to tell us they had one of the items, but were out of the other. We finally chose another one which they had. The appies were okay, nothing special and very little food on the plate. We then ordered a pizza to share. They were generous with the toppings, but the crust was overcooked and snapped apart when bitten. We ate the topping off and left hungry with a $56.00 bill (we had had one glass of mediocre wine each). The waitress was friendly but unprofessional and very slow. There was one other table occupied by two women who were only having drinks. I'd hate to think how slow the service was if they had have been busy. We were there on a Sunday night at 6ish. We should have clued in right away when we walked in on a weekend at dinner time and saw that the place was empty. It will be at least another year before we go back there!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stayed at the hotel one night and decided...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel one night and decided to eat at Ric's. We were not disappointed. The food was really good and exceeded my expectations. Would highly recommend

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort also viewed

Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.