We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff. Beautiful Location. Needs a more strict smoking policy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino to your Saves list
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7777 Mission Road, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 7E5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff. Beautiful Location. Needs a more strict smoking policy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Check in and service staff are excellent. Hotel is very nice and welcoming but is starting to look a little worn. Breathtaking location however seriously marred by having to walk though a smoking area. Good value for what we paid but next time we will look for a hotel with a more strict smoking policy. Too bad!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    129
    32
    11
    10
See reviews for
55
157
8
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon SK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We arrived without a reservation on Thanksgiving, and were able to get a fantastic Casino package rate ($108 plus taxes) which also included a $5 food/beverage coupon and a $10 gaming coupon each. The rooms are large, complete with a fridge, two queen beds, flat screen TV etc. The bathhroom was large, clean, and equipped with spa-type ammenities. The restaurants in both the main buildings and attached Casino were excellent. And the location was wonderful, with spectacular views. Sitting in the heated outdoor pool and hot tubs was a rare treat, especially with the amazing views of the Rockies. We did not gol,f but would love to return for that.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Great Stay in a beautiful Hotel. Abit of a mixup when checking in on our room, but staff rectified it immediately. Very helpful. Meals at the hotel are 5 stars! Got the Casino package which was a deal including free money to gamble at the Casino and free money for meals. AWESOME. Grounds are beautiful and they also have a beautiful golf course there as well. Very clean and very good security. Highly recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Like others, I stumbled onto the resort as I was driving to Cranbrook (first time). The property is located in a stunning valley and has a breathtaking exterior. The golf course also looks decent, and there was a steady stream of traffic coming and going during my visit. I loved the casino so much, that I returned a few more times during my stay in Radium. The facility itself is clean, updated, and cosy. The casino is also inviting and the staff lets you gamble, without hanging over or buzzing around you, as some do in other casinos. I can only speak to the limited service as I was gambling (about 4 - 5 hours), which was poor. I was not offered a drink at any point. That said, I did go looking for a beverage and found out that they served free coffee and fountain pop. The slots paid enough to keep you gambling on the house vs. your dime. There are about 10 gaming tables that I saw.

The parking was free (bonus), and available during my visits. I saw a review from a fellow trip advisor traveler, that noted the theft of his stuff from the pool lockers that didn't lock. That is unfortunate, but I could see that happening, as I wandered freely throughout the grounds and could have probably used the pool and weight room, as there was no security or key card system that I saw. I did see a general store that I wanted to look around in, however, it was locked the both times that I was at the casino (1:30 and 2:30 p.m.). The sign on the door said back at 1;00 and 2:00 p.m. respectively, however, it was not open at the times indicated. I saw another family peering into the window as I was coming up, and they were commenting on the same thing.

The resort is an excellent stop for its sheer beauty. It is an oasis in the desert and a nice stop for any traveler. I think it would be fine for an overnight visit, but probably nothing more at this point, as there isn't enough there to sustain you. I know that is a subjective statement, and one that works for me and my family.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Rather hard to find, as we stumbled on it via billboard advertisement. It was a peach of a find. 4 of us were traveling from Spokane Airport to Banff and needed overnight accommodations on the road trip. We picked the right spot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This is a fantastic place; beautiful both inside and out. We had a lovely King room with a balcony in the new wing. Unfortunately we were only here for one night, the last night of a week long journey through the Canadian Rockies, so we didn't use all the facilities - golf course, swimming pool, workout room. There is also a casino connected to the hotel but since we're not gamblers we did not go inside.

Value: We bought the summer sizzler package which basically included our room and $10 per person dining credit which we used for breakfast at the 19th hole cafe. This brought our price down a bit, but it still seemed a little pricey for Cranbrook.

Service: At 10:15 pm the entire hotel lost electrical power. The staff were seemingly more focused on their inability to bill guest accounts than they were about the safety and well being of their guests. Upon checkout the following morning we were told that power outages are frequent occurrences. So bring a flashlight if you plan to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

When we stayed at the hotel, we went to use the pool and hot tub. There were no locker keys and so we had to leave our clothing in unlocked lockers. While we were outside, both changing rooms were visited by a thief who went through our pockets and stole the contents. When we reported this, staff initially expressed concern and brought in security. The latter was keen to report it to the RCMP and agreed to send us the report details so that we could put in an insurance claim. We have heard nothing. The following day, the new shift knew nothing of the incident and no-one from management made any attempt to contact us to express regrets or apologise. The security man did admit that the CCTV showed a suspect who was neither a guest nor employee in a supposedly 'secure' area of the hotel - so they admit they've got a security problem.
There was no care or concern for us, not even the offer of a drink in the bar as a gesture of an apology or goodwill.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StEugeneResort, Director of Sales at St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
We thank our valued guest for his comments. It is through customer comments that we have the opportunity to understand areas where we are achieving our goal of service excellence but more importantly such feedback identifies the areas where we can continue to improve.
We have been please to be in contact with our guest directly and we sincerely thank him for bringing these issues to our attention. As a result of this continuing dialogue and collaboration, any issues which were brought forward either have been addressed or are in the process of being addressed forthwith.
Once again, sincerest thanks to our valued guest for his comments and we look forward to welcoming him back to St. Eugene!
Wendy Van Puymbroeck
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino

Address: 7777 Mission Road, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 7E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Framed by the Rockies, the Purcells and the famous St Mary River, the St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino is a spectacular destination for getaways, vacations, conferences and retreats. The resort is located 10 minutes from Cranbrook, 5 minutes from the Cranbrook Airport and 20 minutes from the picturesque town of Kimberley. Within its historic walls and the connecting Lodge are beautifully appointed, modern guestrooms and conference facilities. Visit our Interpretive Centre operated by The Ktunaxa Nation Council to learn more about the building’s fascinating history, and the people, mythology and culture found only in this part of the world. St. Eugene offers a wealth of culinary experiences to please the palate and delight the senses. Onsite food and beverage choices include informal fine dining in the Purcell Grill overlooking the sun-drenched deck and golf course. For individuals looking for a more relaxed setting, unwind with tapas in the Fisher Peak Lounge, play a game of billiards or simply enjoy the 19th Hole Bar & Grill. Also on site is the Casino of the Rockies – decorated in a "Gold rush Boom town" theme with 224 slot machines, 10 table games and delicatessen style dining in Fred’s Saloon. In its inaugural year, our 18-hole, Les Furber-designed course was named "one of Canada’s top new courses" by Golf Digest Magazine. The pristine fairways and white sand bunkers wind their way through several different environments, creating a unique combination of links, forests and a spectacular view of the St. Mary River. Our fitness centre features a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, a heated pool and two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Eugene Golf Hotel Cranbrook
St Eugene Hotel
St Eugene Cranbrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.