We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, a bit pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Heritage Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   803 Cranbrook Street, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3S2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
Grand Forks
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not bad, a bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

For an older hotel on the strip , this place is fine. Like a lot of places these days it seemed a bit steep. Rooms are adequate but somewhat dated (no flatscreens here!!). Best feature was hot breakfast including coffee and juice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from hwy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageInn_11, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Canuck 411,

Thank you for your comments and your recent business.
We do strive to offer our guests a pleasant and comfortable stay at a reasonable price, and we acknowledge your comment that the rate seemed “a bit steep”. We have passed this along to our Sales and Marketing division for a review of rates to ensure we are meeting our guest’s needs. Renovations in some of our guestrooms are scheduled for this year and will continue on a regular basis.
As you noted, one of the additional services we offer is a free hot breakfast complimentary with every stay. This is a service that we are pleased to provide and that many patrons come to enjoy again and again. We are glad that you too enjoyed your meal.
Should you find yourself in the Cranbrook area again, we do hope that you will once more choose the Heritage Inn and come to see some of the renovations that we are undertaking in 2012.

Regards,

Collin Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
16
26
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lister, British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This hotel was a pleasant surprise since the reviews were so bad - I booked before I read reviews. Room was newly renovated and very clean with a small couch and coffee table. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant for the whole time as breakfast was included and senior's ate for $11.00 for all inclusive dinner. Selection was top rate and delicious. Will stay again when in Cranbrook. The cost for 2 people was $95.00

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room up 1/2 flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageInn_11, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your most recent stay at the Cranbrook Heritage Inn. We have shared you positive review with the hotel staff and the entire team found your comments to be very gratifying.
We truly look forward to having you back as our customer in the near future.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Sincerely,

Collin Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is an OK hotel. We were put off by the fact that it had no lift and we had to haul our cases up a flight of stairs. The rooms were clean and OK. The room we had was at the back of the hotel and there was a lot of noise. Strangely enough our friends had a room looking out onto the main road and they did not have much noise at all! The breakfast was included and was very good. The lady in charge topped everything up as soon as it was empty and she was very helpful indeed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageInn_11, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Heritage Inn.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast and the service our restaurant staff provided. We are, however, sorry that we didn’t have rooms left on our main floor to offer you. If you do choose to come back to Cranbrook and would like to stay with us again, I will personally ensure that you are offered a main floor room facing the main strip. Please contact me directly.
We are committed to providing customer satisfaction and appreciate your comments on all levels. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Collin Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

After camping for 3 days we decided to tret our selfs to a hotel for the night so we could clean up and go out for a nice meal. We saw the sign showing free hot breakfast and headed over. I got the corpate rate. $109.00 for 2 for one night. The room was old dirty and unkept. The air conditor was from the 70 I sure and the bathroom had tile missing. Your could hear everything in the hall. One good note is it is a hot breakfast from a real menu.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageInn_11, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
To Shadow Cal,

I am sorry for the inconveniences that your room state may have caused on your most recent stay with us. We are currently preparing for guestroom renovations and our policies regarding room repair reporting have been reviewed with our staff. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention.
We strive to offer our guests a positive experience and we hope that we may have another chance to offer this to you.
I sincerely hope that you may consider staying with us upon your next visit to the area and would be more then happy to upgrade your accommodation.
Please contact me directly and I will ensure this happens.

Regards,

Collin Johnston
General Manager
Cranbrook Heritage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel room and bathroom were clean, bed was comfortable, and we had no problems with any staff. There was no elevator and the carpets were all looking worn, but otherwise, everything was fine. There was a buffett breakfast included, which was served in the restaurant within the same building. Hot eggs, ham, pancakes and hash browns, as well as coffee/tea and juice were included. We also had dinner at the same restaurant, and got good food and value for our dollar there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

How many times is reasonable to approach a front desk?

The first room we got the toilet was leaking. The clerk was most agreeable in moving us but then the AC puttered some during the early evening and gave out almost entirely plus you can not open the window as we faced the road.

Both problems were not all of sudden problems and the AC conditioner in room 305 was obviously due for a change some time ago. I pity the housekeeping staff to have to clean the rooms in the heat.

Plus to this place is there is usually room, good parking, and a hot cooked breakfast of several different choices...but the lack of sleep due to the heat was not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageInn_11, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
To Goven,

I am sorry to hear of your experience on your recent visit to our hotel.
Customer service and customer satisfaction are our priorities and we are sorry that your experience was not a positive one.
I have dealt with the deficiencies you noted and have reviewed procedures for the reporting of these items with both the housekeeping division and maintenance division. Once again, thank you for bringing this to my attention.
We are currently preparing for upgrades to all our rooms and we can only hope that on your next visit you will give us another try.
Please contact me directly as I would like to discuss the opportunity to upgrade your stay.

Regards,

Collin Johnston
General Manager
Cranbrook Heritage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

You know, I feel really stupid for giving this hotel high marks before. We have stayed here a number of times for business purposes about once a month (sometimes two). However I get less impressed everytime we return. And this past weekend will be our last visit.

The staff doesn't care whether you have stayed there prior - no "welcome back!" not even a smile. I hate that!! No, "how was your stay?" Hey lazy lady!! Put down your knitting and check me out already!!

The breakfast is still ok, however all their waitresses with expection of one (Robin) need to find new jobs - they all walk around like they're bitter and angry and don't really care what you think. They are more concerned with whether or not you are stealing an extra piece of bacon off their precious buffet table.

The hostesses at the front need to be trained properly so that they don't offend returning travellers. I mean come on!! You don't recognize us by NOW??? Geez!! We are pretty hard to miss!!! Heeelloooo??? Are you awake???? No! We are not here for the "free breakfast"... you should come to recognize by now, that we always upgrade to the buffet!

They still take large dogs which is a bonus, but this time the sheets were dreadful! They had all small bumps on them... I hate that too!!

We won't be staying here again, because I bet no one would notice and no one would care and with they're bogus $20 up charge for your dog, doesn't make this hotel worth $144 on a corporate rate...

Oh did I mention the shower curtain? You will be WEARING it in the shower... it was sucked up in places I'd rather not mention... :(

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageInn_11, Director of Sales at Heritage Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
To Zorka3500,

I would like to personally apologize for your unsatisfactory stay at the Heritage Inn Cranbrook. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention so they can be dealt with directly. I will ensure to discuss your treatment during your stay with both the restaurant and front desk staff. At the Heritage Inn, we are committed to ensuring guest satisfaction and will strive to ensure this will not happen again to future guests. I encourage you to try us again. Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any further concerns.

Sincerely,

Collin N Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 803 Cranbrook Street, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3S2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cranbrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.