We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinewood Inn
1405 11th Ave. N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Golden
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

As you approach this motel, you will be tempted to turn around and book another - from the outside and the location, it is pretty grim. However, the rooms are clean and huge, featuring a full size kitchen and sitting area. The beds are comfortable and the host is very friendly. The best news... its ultra affordable. Clean, cheap and quiet.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great value for money. Kids love the bunkbeds. It's a new renovated room so it's very clean. The top rating in Tripadvisor and the in-suite kitchen are the reasons we chose this place. The owner is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TV
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had to stay in Golden a couple of nights, we decided to stay 5 because this place is a perfect logistics base to visit the rockies without spending a fortune! The owner, Dale, is very kind and helpful. The rooms are very clean and the place is quiet (sometimes there's the train passing but it's not very noisy). In the neighbours there are fast food restaurants and you can use the barbeque. Very nice place. Really recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Pinewood Inn is wonderful. The outside may raise your eyebrows if you haven't read the rave reviews, because it's just a row of concrete block units. But here's what you will find. The owners, Dale and Debi, are wonderful and very kind. We stayed in Unit 4. It was super clean. There was a nice bedroom with a double bed, a sitting room with a table, couch, and a single bed, a full kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator, stove, sink, and cabinets, and a nice bathroom (that has been remodeled recently with pine) with a fan. There was china, flatware, glassware, pots and pans, a dish drainer, dish towels and cloths, ice trays....Every time I looked for something, from a Kleenex to a tea kettle to a floor fan, I found it. The bedroom had two closets and also shelves to put things away. Dale and Debi have thought of everything. I felt so much at home. We were tired of eating out continually, and it was great to buy groceries and fix meals in the kitchen. This was a perfect little "cabin" (even though it is not stand-alone) to use as a base for exploring the National Parks. My husband and I usually stay at Holiday Inns, so we are used to nice hotels, but I would prefer to stay at Pinewood Inn when I go to the Canadian Rockies. We stayed at Pinewood Inn 3 nights and then we went on to a guest cabin we rented for 4 nights in Field. The guest cabin was beautiful and nearly three times as expensive, but frankly we preferred Pinewood Inn because it was so comfortable and functional. We'll be back! Thank you Dale and Debi!

Room Tip: Unit 4 has a great kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

After spending hundreds of dollars a night elsewhere in the Canadian Rockies, it was wonderful to find this little gem in Golden at such a good rate. It is clean, spacious, and quiet. Our room (#4) had a full kitchen and AC. It's walking distance to Tim Horton's and a nice roadside ice cream stand. Dale is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Good price for an overnight stay with the family - basic accommodation away from traffic. Good breakfast diner down the street on your way out. If your expectations are modest, then this should work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We needed a one night stay in Golden on our way to Calgary. After consulting TripAdvisor I decided to try the #1 rated place in Golden. The pictures on TripAdvisor and the Pinewood website do not do this fabulous little place justice. We requested the room with the bunkbeds and our girls were so excited to have their own room (away from mom and dad) with bunkbeds. Four hours into our trip and they said "This is the best holiday ever"!! That's a true testament from two young children. This is by far the cleanest holiday rental I have ever stayed in. It looks like they paint, put in new laminate flooring and shampoo the rugs after every guest....yes it's that clean!! The owners have done an amazing job and should be very proud of their mountain hide-away!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pinewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Inn

Address: 1405 11th Ave. N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 Unit motel, locally operated by a husband and wife team. We take great pride in our repeat customers who have come back for our Super clean rooms, comfort, low price and great customer service. Accommodations vary - sleeping 1-4 persons. Kitchenette units, separate bedroom, microwave, color t.V with remote control. Wireless Internet Now Available For Your Convenience BBQ's are available for your personal use during your stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Golden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinewood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pinewood Inn to your Saves list