We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ive seen better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Turning Point Restaurant

The Turning Point Restaurant
906 11th Ave. S, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
+1 250-344-2566
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Golden
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pizza & Pasta, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are a family owned business that offers pizza, pasta, steaks and burgers, etc. We have a separate kids menu and also offer take out and free delivery within the town of Golden. Patio seating in the summer or enjoy the warm fireplace in the winter. We welcome large groups. We also have plenty of space for parking
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ive seen better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Yah the food was good, but I had the runs after eating there. The service was great, all the girls were very friendly, but the restaurant looks like its designed for a very old crowd, and the couple who owns it is quite young. If they had a small menu and put some money into the atmosphere, got rid of the hideous carpet and got it more up to date, then in sure it would have been busier then the thee other tables that were in there with me and noon

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

On a Friday night in August, we found ourselves on The Turning Point's patio for dinner. It's location, while downtown, is in a light industrial/commercial area so keep your eyes on the mountain scenery. Food was very good, portions are large, and the staff was very friendly. It is definitely the family friendly choice for a decent sit down restaurant (appeared to be the ONLY family friendly choice on that Thursday night) in Golden.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Pleasant patio lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We ended up here by default, since the place we were seeking nearby was closed at lunch that sunny Saturday. (Lack of hours of operation is a weakness of TA, but I had a phone in my pocket... I need to remember to call before driving off to find a place.)

We enjoyed interesting burgers, excellent fries, and friendly service. I've never been served iced tea in an 8 oz glass before, and the only time refills came was when we asked for them. Seemed odd in an otherwise very competent eatery.

Prices seemed a bit high, but probably I just hadn't adjusted to BC prices in general yet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looking for a good meal at reasonable cost and found it here. Great food and very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

This really was quite a find in a town where I would not have expected much. Stopped in a very average motel to break a long journey and found this restaurant to be a very pleasant surprise. Both our meals were excellent and the staff very friendly. I would highly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent place to dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nice clean fairly new restaurant with a menu thta should suit most everyone. Our waitress was very attentitive and our foood was great. We liked it so much we came back again. They have dinner specials starting at 5 pm and we split one meal our first day finding the quantity adequate for both of us.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turning Point Restaurant also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Turning Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turning Point Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.