We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Zone @ Eleven22” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eleven22 Restaurant

Eleven22 Restaurant
1122 10th Avenue South, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H4, Canada
+1 250-344-2443
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Golden
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Dessert, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Original, modern, comfort food. Our chefs present a variety of local and internationally inspired creations, prepared a la minute and served in satisfying portions. Complete your dining experience with our inspired selection of wines, beers, spirits and house-made desserts. As a popular neighbourhood restaurant, ELEVEN22 reflects an easy atmosphere for people of all ages. Dinner for 2 or family/friends gatherings, our semi-private rooms hung with local artwork provide a perfect setting for any occasion. Watch the chefs create while relaxing in the bar/lounge area or enjoy Golden's mountain views from our garden/patio.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
“In the Zone @ Eleven22”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

If you're looking to experience a new level of dining, Eleven22 is the spot. As a couple or solo, the best seat in the house is at the bar; where you can watch a Chef that truly enjoys his profession. Every dish had an OMG factor. From the appetizer: Olive Tapenade w/ Balsamic Reduction. The Main Course: Chefs own Pad Thai, where every bite was even better than the last, no joke. To Dessert: A 5 Spice Chocolate Creme Brûlée. All accompanied by a 2010 Malbec. Dining at Eleven22 is truly an experience not to be missed when visiting Golden, B.C.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    61
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Below Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were excited to try this place but it failed to deliver. Perhaps because we were there during low season some of the excitement was lacking but overall just an average experience.

We had a reso but upon walking in, no one greeted us. They did look at us but no one said hello, there was a casually dressed server chatting up a customer sitting at the wood which faces the open kitchen but she continued her conversation about her weekend outing while we waited. HThe guest was clearly a local regular. It set a strange tone. A few people from the Kitchen looked at us, but no one said hello? She was far more casual than we had expected based on peeking at the menu and reviews of the room. It was my birthday that evening and we were celebrating our anniversary as well. We didn't mention these things in our reso but were never asked if it was our first time there, or if we were celebrating anything etc.

The date was Saturday October 5th 2013, definitely low season so everywhere was quiet. The restaurants should be fighting for the few tourist dollars kicking around at that time of year.

There are several rooms all with seating and the restaurant was less than 1/3 full. So as a couple dining alone looking for a nice night out we were surprised to be put into a smallish room with a large dining group of 6 or 8. So, it was us and them. Not very private at all and the room was overlit. Bad ambience for a night out. We had specifically booked a reso thinking that would secure us a nicer table. I'm in industry and when there are few resos and a slow night ahead, protocol is to rewards those who have planned by making a reservation. But apparently not. It was awkward. The people at the large table were enjoying themselves but every once in awhile someone at their table would utter a shush of "quiet! There are people right behind you." So that was awful. We felt like we had to be very hushed as well so they couldn't hear our conversation.

The service was very impersonal and unattentive. Perhaps it was too slow that evening. Sometimes in industry, it's easy to be forgetful when it's quiet. I can't remember her name but her language was very unprofessional and her timing was poor. She invaded lip space on our glassware, tried to take my husbands beer glass before he was through with it and never came back to top up our wine glasses. Minor things but all strung together, made for a disappointing experience.

We ended up just staying for a couple of appetizers that were average and decided to leave and go elsewhere.

We had the stilton fondue which itself was decadent. It had a lovely amount of roasted garlic hidden in the bottom of it and was rich and creamy. But, they served it with some strange marinated julienned red peppers and onions that were sweet and floppy. We left those on the plate and ate the bread that was on our table. The server didn't inquire as to why we hadn't touched the pickled veg, perhaps it's common.

We also had the potstickers which were good. Nothing extraordinary but tasty.

And the Calamari, which had a strangely seasoned breading on it. It was fried in oil that wasn't hot enough so it was soggy and chewy and served with a familiar generic and most likely, bottled sweet chili sauce.

The most gracious service we received was when we were paying the bill at the counter on our way. I'm sure it was an expectation of tip goodbye and thank you.

Unfortunately we won't be back. There are better restaurants in town to be experienced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

It has taken me a long time to get to this review, so the details are fuzzy, but the impression remains of a beautiful home-like setting in the Canadian Rockies. The food was excellent, the service gracious, and the renovated private home was quite elegant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach BC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We came back a second time on our way home from a road trip to Manitoba.

This old family home has a cosy atmosphere, and the main floor rooms are virtually intact. The food is imaginative and well-presented. I chose Nasi Goreng, and my husband a manicotti "special" dish. We both thoroughly enjoyed the food and found it reasonably priced. We highly recommend this place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Gourmet in Golden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We often speed right through Golden on our way to the coast. This time we decided to stop overnight and play the Golden Golf Course, a hidden gem. Little did we know that we would find another gem, the Eleven22. The atmosphere was great and the service friendly and efficient. Our meal was excellent, as good as anything I have had in Calgary or else where for that matter. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven22 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Eleven22 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eleven22 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.