We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rustic Inn in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   913 Oster Road | Box 2078, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Golden B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A rustic Inn in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

On our 6th day of a road trip in the Kootenies we decided, because it was raining, we'd skip camping and hit a B&B on our way back to Calgary. As soon as we arrived at Doris and Norbert's rustic retreat, we felt welcomed with open arms as if we were family. We booked our stay in one of the cabins, a short walk from the main building. She asked if we were hungry and suggested we unpack while she cooked us some home made schnitzel; we had just ordered one to share.

We went to our cabin to settle in and it was just perfect, clean, made up nicely, she had even turned on the fireplace for us as I had mentioned on the phone how I was really looking forward to curling up to read by a nice warm fire. It was simple and honest.

Don't get me wrong, this isn't the type of place you go to if you are looking for all the bells and whistles, this is a "back to the basics", "au natural" type of establishment run by good, genuine people who are extremely welcoming and down to earth.

We walked over to the lodge to have a bite to eat and for the price of one home cooked schnitzel dinner, she had given us two large freshly made salads with delicious fresh dill sprinkled throughout and the main course was not one, but two, fully loaded huge plates of schnitzel, cooked two different ways, with potato patty and veggies. It was a delicious, hearty meal, just as I would expect from a German influenced Inn. I couldn't even finish half my plate, which was technically 1/4 of our meal. We left well fed and satisfied to retreat to our cozy cabin and relax for the night, along the way smelling the delicious smoke shack up the hill.

What I really appreciated about staying with Doris and Norbert was their genuine hospitality and uncomplicated attitude. They have all the beauty of the world surrounding them; stunning views of the mountains, family photos displayed in the lodge, and honestly, we are lucky that they are willing to share this with the public. Turn off your phone, your computer, your tv and go read a book or walk down to the creek. For anyone who is interested in stopping to smell the roses for just a minute, I think you would really enjoy your stay here and appreciate something real, and if not, you are better off staying in Banff where rowdy drunks are screaming and running into traffic while you elbow your way through the generic shops filling your face with fudge. I've been there and it's nice to do the frou frou spa/shopping trip every now and then but this is not that type of place, nor does it intend to be. To each their own!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    17
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
73
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Doris and Norbett saved our sanity when we happened across their hotel on the internet whilst searching for accommodation around Golden, Canada. They made us so welcome and it felt as if we were staying with friends in their home. The lodge was beautiful and the rooms decorated and maintained to five star standard. Doris cooked bespoke meals for us and looked after us as if we were members of the family. Our two day stay in this beautiful setting next to a cascading stream allowed us to recharge our batteries and enjoy a luxurious oasis during our RV holiday. Our last day came too quickly and we were so sad to leave. They gave us a lovely send off and I know we shall return to find them and stay again in the wonderful Glenogle Spa and Lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the house are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location of this European style lodge is a bit remote from the centre of Golden but is among the majestic mountains and was great for a peaceful sleep after a long drive. The very friendly hostess went out of her way to accommodate the two of us as we arrived extremely late and also were allowed a late departure without extra charge. The beds were great and the whole place was "spic and span"clean. An unfortunate downside was the very negative and judgmental attitude of the host (husband) who continually criticized everything North American in favour of things German ; one was left to wonder why the couple ever left Frankfurt! His down-beat approach certainly tended to cancel out his wife's welcoming style. Sadly, reduces the overall rating to less than good for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We needed a one night stay traveling through BC and so we came across this lodge on Booking.com. Called the owner and she quoted $159 which was $10 cheaper than on Booking.com so I thought, ok, that's fair and booked it. It was a bit of a drive off the highway and when we first drove in I was already disappointed. The grounds were messy, not organized, parking awkward and apart from the beautiful surrounding it felt like trailer trash lives here. My husband did not want to stay at all but we already gave our credit card. Went in, same thing by the entrance, mess, tons of dirty shoes and slippers in a pile and not inviting at all. We got a room in the basement and although it was big enough there was no tv, no alarm clock or a phone. Which would be fine if it was advertised as B&B but on the phone the owner said it's a full service hotel. Hot tub broken. Breakfast NOT included in the price and she said the charge would be $15 plus $10 for the kids. There was just nothing this place had to offer for the amount we paid. When we asked about the tv she said we don't need it anyways, the kids should be going to bed! Umm, let me, the customer and the parent be the jugde of that! The noise kept us all up coming from their little bar and the room was freezing. In the morning when I went to check out and finally leave this place behind I found out she charged us $169 instead of $159 and denied she quoted me that. Like my husband said, the worst 200 bucks we have ever spent. Would never go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed two nights in the lovely place in July 2013. It is a new facility in the foothills with a beautiful view. Our room was spotless, modern and spacious with a common deck overlooking the hills and forest where we could relax with a glass of wine before dinner. We use a wheel chair and the room was specifically designed for wheel chair access. It included wide doors and a large bathroom with a roll-in shower. It was the best accessible room we had during our month long trip in Alberta and British Columbia. The owners, Doris and Norbert, were very friendly and provided sumptuous dinners and breakfasts. We can offer an unqualified recommendation for this quiet place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here, and found it to be a great base to visit all the attractions in and around Golden. We went white water rafting, rode the Golden Eagle express gondola from Kicking Horse Resort, went on a 2 hour horse trail and visited Golden Golf Club, which were all only a few minutes drive from our base at Glenogle Mountain Lodge.
Doris & Norbert are the proprietors, and they are two 'down to earth' and genuine people who care about their guests. They make time for everyone, and will always find time to chat & make you feel welcome. Doris's breakfasts are legendary, and Norbert plays the part of the 'hard done to' husband to perfection, with a dry sense of humour that invites everyone to feel sorry for him!
The rooms at the lodge were spacious, fully equipped and clean. We would recommend this lodge to families, couples or singles (that was the mix of people who we encountered), as Doris & Norbert were the perfect hosts to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We first stayed here in July 2011 for one night on our way out to Osoyoos BC for a holiday. We had such an enjoyable time with Doris and Norbert that night that we booked a stay on the return trip home. The hosts are amazing warm funny friendly people that were meant to own such an establishment - the rooms are comfortable, the lodge is warm and inviting, the food is delicious and there is warsteiner on tap.

We've stopped going to Osoyoos for summer holidays, but we try to get back to Glenogle at least once a year, to relax for a couple of days, have some great food and drink, and some laughs.

Doris and Norbert, we are due - we will be back soon !! John and Shirley

Room Tip: the rooms with king beds are our favourites - we request the room on the main floor by the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa

Address: 913 Oster Road | Box 2078, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast Lodge. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa is one of Golden’s newer exquisite accommodations, designed to exceed all your getaway expectations. Our attention to detail and outstanding service will contribute to your creation of a memory to cherish. Our Lodge is nestled in a quiet valley, about 8 km north east and 400 m above Golden, British Columbia. You will find yourself amidst spectacular views of the Rocky and Purcell Mountain Ranges. The breathtaking view of the mountains and the bubbling creek will bring you back to your Center. Our licensed lounge and European cuisine will fill your spirit and ensure you have a grand getaway. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa features a beautiful dining area with spectacular views and fireplace. The dining area was built around an extremely large tree, which lends to the amazing architecture of the lodge. Glenogle features 10 luxurious rooms with soft warm down duvets and fluffy bathrobes, as well as a 2-bedroom suite, complete with living area and a big-screen TV in the main lodge. We also have 3 private, cozy and fully equipped chalets for those romantic getaways. Glenogle Lodge is the ideal setting for small weddings, romantic getaways, family reunions, vacations, retreats, business meetings. Indulge yourself in our comfortable surroundings, enjoy a massage after an active day or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenogle Mountain Hotel
Hotel Glenogle Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.