We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palliser Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palliser Lodge to your Saves list
Palliser Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1420 Palliser Lodge Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights whilst touring the area. Having read previous reviews, knew what to expect for booking in! Would not like to arrive in the dark though as had to search for The Glacier Hotel to get our room keys etc. room was very nice with huge king size bed, fridge , microwave and air con. We felt as if we had whole hotel to ourselves as not a soul around. Enjoyed use of hot tub which was open until 10 pm. All in all very good value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for our recent visit to The Palliser Lodge.

We are very pleased to know you had a great time while here after the summer season. It is quiet up here now - a great time to relax and unwind in the hot tub and simply rejuvenate at a great price.

Please remember that you can receive a return rate discount if you book directly with Bellstar!

We hope to be able to host your future vacation travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    10
    16
    6
See reviews for
32
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom unit for one week in August and it was very nice for a great price. It had granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, luxury faucets, beautiful views and even a private hot-tub on one of our two balconies. We didn't find it to be an issue to check-in at the main lodge, as others seemed to be upset about. They had sent us an email the week before our arrival to remind us of this arrangement. The lodge is about 13 kilometers up the mountain road from the town of Golden, which makes for a beautiful location. It's a great base for hiking in the surrounding national parks and still having a few restaurants and grocery stores nearby.

We must note that there were a few strange things that seemed overlooked for such a nice establishments. Firstly, the bedding was very uncomfortable. The sheets were super cheap and scratchy, and it had motel-style bedspreads. Also, we didn't really care, but the TV's were the old style, which may bother some people, The gym, although it's in a nice spot of the hotel with plenty of windows, was altogether forgotten. There was one treadmill, a broken stationary bike (which was broken for the entire week), some free-weights up to 35 lbs and a universal gym. One piece of cardio equipment hardly seemed adequate. Also, there was never any water or towels during the whole week, and the temperature was set to an uncomfortably warm degree, with the thermostat behind a locked box. The last oddity, which we suspect is only a summer "off-season" kind of issue, is that things seemed somewhat disorganized. For example, there is only housekeeping on the 4th day of your stay. We confirmed which day this would be, were gone hiking all day and came back to find they had not come. We asked the front-desk about it, and they confirmed it was a mistake. Housekeeping did come the next day, but forgot to replenish some of the supplies. This was not a big deal to us, and everyone we dealt with at the front desk was very nice. But for a place that bothers to install heated tile flooring, it seems unexpected to have scratchy sheets and disorganized service.
All in all, we were very happy with our stay and would stay again, especially given the great summer pricing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your valued comments and feedback from your recent stay at The Palliser Lodge.

Being in a central location with multiple National Parks, many lakes and hikes, and being at the base of a mountain makes Kicking Horse an ideal central base location for outdoor adventures.

We are glad you had enjoyed the condo and private hot tub. In regards to the fitness room, the deficient equipment is currently being looked at for updating and replacement. We are also working with the property owners for the comforter replacements.

We have already reviewed our mid-stay clean procedures with the housekeeping dept. and I will investigate why there was no water or towels available. The warm temperature within the Lodge comes from being well insulated for the winter months. Unfortunately there is no air conditioning within the building itself.

Thank You again for your comments. We appreciate your feedback to continue to provide an improve great service for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this resort to attend a wedding. Our email indicated where to pick up our room key, and we found the building no problem. We had a corner two bedroom suite on the main floor of the Palliser Lodge. Access was great as everything (gondolas) were within a short walk. The room was clean, spacious and more than enough room for us all. When we asked for more toilet paper, the maids were more than happy to oblige. It was a little pricey, but we were not disappointed with anything. The hot tub was clean and we used it twice. We used the general BBQ and it was clean prior to use and had easy access from our room. We have nothing to complain about. Enjoyed our weekend.

Room Tip: We liked the walkout room and spaciousness of the ground floor hot tub area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Palliser Lodge.

We are very glad to hear that you had an easy check-in experience, and enjoyed your accommodations and everything else the resort has to offer.

When you decide come back for another vacation, or wedding, please remember to ask for our "Return Guest Rate" when booking directly with Bellstar.

Thank You again for your review for the Trip Advisor Community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

First off i have to say Kicking horse mountain resort is a newly developed ski resort that is up and coming and so far really great.
We attended a wedding at the top of the mountain and it was truly the most incredible views and location for a ceremony. The gondola allowed access for everyone and anyone can enjoy the views and some easy to complex hiking if you desire.
I would absolutely recommend this resort location for a beautiful wedding ceremony, special event or anyone that wants to do hiking or mountain biking. There is an awesome grizzly bear refuge right under the gondola so you can often see the bear underneath you on the ride up.

We rented a spacious one bedroom condo in the Palliser lodge.
The building itself was fairly new. Checking in was very hard to figure out, we had to drive back down and around to a lodge four buildings away to check in which was confusing and not convenient and there are no staff in this building to point you in the right direction.
The front desk service was ok but other than check in or check out, we never saw a staff member in 3 days.
This is a condo type getaway so there is no housekeeping service or front desk and the lodge we stayed in only offered one small pool and no other amenities. The beds were also not at all comfortable and the linens and towels were all on the poor quality, scratchy side.
Also, you have to walk down the hill to the little village to get any food or otherwise.

The couple restaurants we did go to were great overall though and they do offer a little of everything in this village.
If you are looking for a private condo style stay, this resort is suitable and i would recommend a hot tub room. If you prefer a coffee shop or available staff or any hotel type services, you should stay in the mountain lodge itself which is where we checked in at.

The condo lodge was average, however Kicking Horse Resort village overall is one of the most incredible mountain getaways i have experienced. The hiking trails are so well laid out and the whole mountain experience was fantastic. I hope this resort is able to develop more soon, perhaps add some camp sites or other services. There was a mountain biking competition on the go and lots of people had to tent it in the gravel parking lots as there were no other options.

I woud highly recommend renting a house instead of a condo for a big group. Every house up there is a brand new incredible estate style chalet and the 3 homes our families were staying in were all absolutely stunning and affordable for a big group.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a private hot tub. The suites are really large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank You for you recent stay and candid review of the resort and the Palliser Lodge.

The main Front Office for all of the Bellstar properties (including the large estate homes) is located at The Glacier Lodge building. The housekeepers do come by your room after your third night stay, where they will replace all linens and amenities. The small pool located outside is actually a large common hot tub for all guest to be able to use. Some of the Palliser Lodge rooms do come equipped with private hot tubs, while others do not. Other amenities within Palliser Lodge include a common BBQ located in the courtyard for everyone staying to use, and a fitness center located right beside the hot tub entrance.

Thank You again - Your great comments and suggestions will assist other travellers in making their travel plans more complete. We look forward to be able to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SK, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Kicking Horse Palliser Lodge on July 23, 2013. We noiticed this lodge on the internet, when searching for a place to stay on our trip to BC. They had a special rate on a "guest" room, so we decided to book there. We have never stayed at a ski resort before, so being off season, we thought we'd try it out. We had been driving most of the day, and it was getting to be after supper, when I realized on our reservation, it said that check-in was up to 6:00 and after that to call a phone #. I did that, and a cheery man answered and said not to worry, as he'd be there until 10:00, and to come to the Glacier Lodge to check in. We didn't know where the Glacier Lodge was on the property, so we drove around. We first found the Pallser where our room was. We stopped there, and walked in. It was dark, no one at the desk and no one around anywhere. Not the reception we are used to and it felt different, We knew we had to find the Glacier Lodge, but thought we'd take a look at the building we were going to stay at, and thought maybe there might be a map of the facilities there, but didn't see one. Then we drove further, after passing another building "Mountaineer", we came across the Glacier Lodge. My suggestion to the resort is to put up some signs pointing to each building so people like us, who drive in for the first time, know where to go. Another sign saying "register at the Glacier Lodge" or something would help. The man at reception at the Glacier was very friendly and gave us all info we needed to find our room. They do have a couple restaurants there, but since we were checking in late, only the saloon was open, until 10:00. We drove back to the Palliser, where they have underground parking which was nice, and would be great for a winter stay. Our room was nice and clean, with a king size bed, kichinette and balcony, We did notice that the sliding door to the balcony didn't lock, but we were on the the third floor, so didn't think of it as a problem. We then went to the saloon to eat, which was really nice. The waiter was great and attentive. Our stay in the room was comfortable, and it was really quiet there. In the morning we dropped off the key back at the Glacier Lodge, then drove around to see the new homes being built there, take some pics of the beautiful views of the mountains, and headed back down into Golden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Palliser Lodge.

I am sorry to hear your initial entrance to the resort was a bit confusing. We are changing our check-in instructions to include a map of the resort to show new guests where the main front desk for all Bellstar accommodations is located.
The Resort itself is located 14 km's from the town of Golden (approx. 15 min drive) up the paved mountain road, but once up here, the views are incredible!

I am very glad though to hear that after your friendly check in experience, that everything else had worked out well, and you had a great time while visiting here. We hope that you will come back and visit us again, whether during our ski season, or during our summer months.

Thank you again for your Trip Advisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Brelade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to check into the Pallister Lodge after travelling for most of the day and just wanted to get into our room and shower and chill-out.... And what a carry-on trying to get the keys for our room and after several phone-calls to some mystery man we managed to get our keys from the reception in a near by hotel that was also totally devoid of any staff....
We had three nights stay there and in all that time saw no members of staff at all and also one night when we were out on our balcony my friend helped six other new arrivals to find their keys as everyone seem to be suffering the same scenario as we did.
I know this is the off-season for the Lodge but i'd have thought if you take bookings and the money off people you should as least provide a service for them, so why don't they just send you with your booking confirmation a list of instructions explaining that the chances are you'll see no staff at the reception and what to do in the circumstances.... Simple as......
But after saying that the rooms were clean and comfortable and the views from our balcony were simply stunning at anytime of the day and night.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel and the view was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for recent stay at The Palliser Lodge. The Glacier Lodge is where the Guest Services desk is located for the multiple properties that we provide accommodations to. The information is located on the Welcome Letter that we send out prior to arrival, along with the hours of operations. I can understand missing this information as it is also provided at the same time as our confirmation letter. We are looking into making the check-In instruction more clear and concise to alleviate any confusion over the periods when the desk is not open 24 hours.
I am glad though that after check in, you were able to relax and enjoy the spectacular mountain views from your condo.
Thank You again for your feedback - we are continually striving at improving our service levels for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We knew in advance that most (if not all) of the facilities in the Kicking Horse Resort are closed in June. However, it was more difficult to check in than we could have ever imagined. We got to the hotel and there was no one at the reception desk - the area was in total darkness. There was, however, a phone, with a small sheet of paper with a phone number. It took forever for me to get a response on the other end, and when I finally did, the guy gave me some very vague instructions as to the location of our keys. He said to look for 2 towers, and we did that for over 20 minutes with no luck. I then went back in and called him again, and he had no other information for me. We happened to see a couple walking around, and they told us we had to go to the Glacier Lodge and go past reception where a bunch of lock boxes are located. So I did that and just as he had said, there were the lock boxes containing our keys and personal info - unlocked and sitting unattended. The whole process took us over an hour. We finally got our keys and took a few tries to get them to open the parkade door at the Palliser. The room was very clean and had a nice balcony with a view of the mountains. If I had known better, I would have booked something in town, because it is a 14km drive from the townsite (incredibly confusing) to the Palliser - and we made the trip at least 10 times, so do the math!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit. I am truly sorry that you did not have a great experience at check-in. Arriving to a new place can be very challenging when not familiar with the area - especially in the evening. I have already spoken with the emergency contact person to be available to come out and assist when the assistance is required. We do send the check in instructions within both our welcome letter and confirmation emails, but I will still review and update our check In instructions to ensure that it is clear and very easy to understand. Outdoor signage on the road is also being looked into.
I am though, very glad that you enjoyed your room and the spectacular views from your patio once you arrived and settled in.

Thank You again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palliser Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palliser Lodge

Address: 1420 Palliser Lodge Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palliser Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, the Palliser Lodge is well situated in one of the area’s premier locations, boasting spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains and ski slope activities. The Lodge, just walking distance to the Gondola base at Kicking Horse Mountain, ensures quiet enjoyment while maintaining the convenience of ski-in/ski-out access to the mountain. Other features include: private hot tubs, full kitchens, exercise room and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palliser Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palliser Hotel Golden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palliser Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.