We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Aug 11 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heather Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Heather Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Heather Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Box 401 | Rogers Pass, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great Wedding Aug 11 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spent the weekend at the lodge for a family wedding. It was an excellent venue for a mountain wedding. The lodge was great. The staff and service were excellent. The food was amazing! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place for peace and quite. Maybe to much quite time after a few days, but lots of hiking, good starting point. Maybe more then 5 TV channels would have been nice and maybe a warning that the wifi does not work in the rooms. Otherwise, really great staff and really good food. If you do not explore not really a good place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just had our wedding out at this amazing lodge. We discovered it last year, and decided that it was where we wanted to get married. Couldn't have asked for a better place to do it. The staff was so accomodating, providing us with everything that we wanted. The rooms were clean and tidy, and the rooming order was exactly how we asked it to be.The food was absolutely delicious, our guests couldn't stop commenting on it. All in all, it turned out exactly the way I imagined my wedding would, and I have the staff at Heather Mountain Lodge to thank for that. The husband and I can't wait to stop in again. Do yourself a favor and check this place out.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked 1 night for our 20th anniversary. Great deal for room included dinner and breakfast. Dinner was fantastic. They upgraded our dinner to a 6 course meal when they found out it was our anniversary. Happened to have live music that night, was awesome. Room was clean and nice. Best thing was the staff, very helpful and friendly. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stopped in for the night on our way through to Penticton. This is a really nice little place, very comfortable and clean. The staff were great and there was kind of a pride that they took in their lodge, there was a vegetable garden out back. The grounds and scenery were just beautiful. The food was really great as well. We felt right at home, we would recommend this lodge and we will be staying there again, next time we are through that area. The only thing I'd say was the signage is not that great, there is a very small sign saying Heather Mountain Lodge and then the turn off is RIGHT there, keep your eyes open for it :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Location:
We stayed two nights at Heather Mountain Lodge, making trips in the direction of Golden each day. Make no mistake, when the hotel's website says "off the grid" they mean it's off the grid. There is little or no cell phone reception and the wi-fi is more off than on. It's 55km from Golden on the one side, and 89km from Revelstoke on the other - and there are no towns inbetween. It was not a light drive to Golden since there were roadworks while we were there, which slowed the traffic down. However, this is exactly why people come to this hotel: - its proximity to national parks, trails, hikes, ice fields and glaciers.

If you want peace and quiet, access to the top natural attractions of British Columbia, and amazing mountain views, and if you are the sort of person who likes luxury in the countryside, this is the place for you. In the winter months, Heather Mountain Lodge is closed to the public, to accommodate heli-skiing parties.

Room:
The hotel is really attractive, with attention to the finest design details - expecially the restaurant area with its beautiful wood work. Booking-in was straightforward, and the receptionist/manager made an effort to get us into our suite even though we were early. The suite was attractive and spotlessly clean, and the bathroom was large and luxurious. The two beds were just firm enough and had good linen. Our room had an excellent espresso maker with good coffee, which I've never seen in any hotel room. It also had a fan, which was necessary since it was boiling hot and the room gets a lot of sun.

Food:
The hotel emphasizes that it is a place for "foodies" and while the menu was brief, the food was really good and they had a good selection of wine. This is an important point since, being so isolated, you are basically stuck with the hotel food. On booking in, we immediately bought some gelatos at the front desk, which were delicious. Sometimes the service in the restaurant was slower than we expected, but that forced us to take it easy and relax.

Entertainment:
On our last night, the hotel booked a rock band from Golden to play live - "Willhorse", and it was a pleasant surprise since they were excellent. Those guys are really talented. Upstairs from the restaurant is a cosy pub with books, magazines, TV and a billiards table.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

On our way from Bamff to Kamloops, we happened upon this lovely Lodge for lunch. The setting is beautiful. They only had a small lunch assortment available- but it was delicious. My husband had a Elk and cheese pastie or potpie and I had a focaccia sandwich with Brie and garden fresh basil and tomatoes. We sat on the porch and relaxed for our drive ahead. Would try and stay at the lodge and have dinner next time up here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heather Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather Mountain Lodge

Address: Box 401 | Rogers Pass, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heather Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heather Mountain Lodge is located on the Trans-Canada Highway halfway between Golden and Revelstoke British Columbia. Nestled in the mountains at the East Gate of Canada's Glacier National Park, this classic Canadian timber frame lodge will be a highlight of your holiday. The BisonBerry Bistro offers an outstanding dining experience, seasoned with memorable mountain views. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Heather Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heather Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.