We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place, but great patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhouse tavern

Riverhouse tavern
506 8th Ave North, Golden, British Columbia V0a1h0, Canada
+(1)2503444660
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Golden
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Small place, but great patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I would expect this place to be a little crowded in the winter, but in summer they have a huge patio. Prices are very reasonable, good menu. However, they are kind of hidden away! If I had not been riding a bike and crossed the pedestrian bridge to Spirit square, I would have never found this place!
I highly recommend this place.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Meh.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Tried the food here a few times, was nothing special, however nice beers and nice staff. Will try it again, hopefully just caught it on a off day ??

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoa, Manabi, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Time of your life everytime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

After investigating some of the competition the riv still has the best burger in town . Homemade patties served on a cheesebun. Other menu greats are the veggi lasagna with white sauce, the beet humus and daily soup creations . A huge variety of local and imported craft beers, and a blender that just doesnt quit . Take a load off this summer and relax at the Riv ...we do

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, great service and AMAZING beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We rolled into Golden after a seven-hour car ride, looking (hoping) for a patio somewhere where we could have a cold beer and a good meal, where our nine year old would be welcome. Not an easy task to accomplish sometimes.

Luckily we happened across the Riverhouse Tavern on TripAdvisor and decided to check it out.

An important point that we didn't see online: they accept kids on the patio until 8pm. Limited menu, though, in case you have a picky eater ... That being said ...

The food. OMG. So. good. The turkey burger and spinach salad were delicious (although the salad was overdressed) and the BBQ chicken pizza was a huge hit.

The beer. OMFG. They have Deschutes, which may be the best brewery in the Western and Northern hemispheres. They also have a lot more, including Canadian craft brews and the big guys (labatts, Molson, Coors) as well. The server we had was very well educated about his beers and had some great recommendations.

The only weird thing for me was that there's smoking allowed on the patio at the tables, which isn't allowed in Alberta.

If you're looking for a great patio with excellent food and beer, this place has it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great time and delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We went to the Riverhouse on a Wednesday night when there happened to be a concert on the town square next to the restaurant. Even without the bonus of the live music we really liked the tavern. All the seating is outside which is good if there is nice weather. There is a decent beer selection and the vegetarian lasagne was absolutely delicious. Service was awesome and super friendly. We would definitely go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverhouse tavern also viewed

 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Riverhouse tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverhouse tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.