We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Horse Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Copper Horse Lodge to your Saves list
Copper Horse Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

A wonderful experience!

Exceeded all expectations! Brooke, Corrina and Troy are fantastic hosts, and really personalized our experience. Troy is amazing and really super sharp.He managed everything for us to enjoy our stay.

We were a groupe of 6 co-wokers and we all agreed that we will come back soon the Copper Horse!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    4
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Copper Horse Lodge. Definitely above all expectations! Corrina and Troy are fantastic hosts, and really personalized our experience. Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This was the first winter getaway with just my siblings and I. Being the oldest, i had to take care of everything!
I very much appreciate the friendliness of everyone working at Copper Horse Lodge, from the time I called to book the room ( right away they gave me directions to the lodge from Golden) to when we checked out. I like how they made us feel welcome the minute we got in the door with a tour, and very much appreciate them helping us push our car when it got stuck!! The food was fantastic, the atmosphere was cozy, the view was beautiful!
Thank you to all the easy going staff at Copper Horse Lodge for all your help in making it such a memorable trip!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We should have been alerted to the For Sale sign out front. We had stayed here 5 years ago, and we loved it, so decided to return. Bad move. It started with The Worst Room in the house. Noisy, dirty and uncomfortable. It was not what we booked, but that's what we got. In fairness, the male host was very helpful in getting us into a better room for the remainder of the stay. Again, cleanliness was an issue... moldy tiles in the shower, Dirty glasses ! and dusty shelves... not good. We moved out to an other lodge in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coholo, Manager at Copper Horse Lodge, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear 1skichick: This review has deeply disappointed us and has caused an immediate review of our procedures. It seems your party was unfortunately caught in the middle of a cleaning cycle but remains inexcusable. Immediate changes have been put in place to ensure this experience is not repeated. I can assure you our attempt to sell the property has not affected our goal of providing the best boutique lodge experience at Kicking Horse, rather it has intensified it. We can say with great confidence that mould is not an issue in our showers. There is a normal discolouration which takes place during the season; typically addressed during our off season procedures. Clearly this routine needs attention and revision as well. I sincerely hope we have not lost a valued client as repeat visitors make up the bulk of our clientele. It is a fact we cherish. I encourage you to contact us personally prior to your next visit and thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I brought my parents to stay at Copper Horse Lodge and we all loved it, walking distance to the hill, the room was very comfortable and the view amazing.

Tip: Get decent driving directions to the Lodge if you are arriving at night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We LOVED this place. It's tucked up on the mountain (13km from Golden on the mountain side), with the fresh crisp, cedar scented air! We went on a livingsocial deal, so we got 2 nights, with breakfasts, 2 passes to the grizzly bear refuge and 2 passes for the gondola.

From the moment we checked in, to the moment we left, we were continually impressed. The lobby was so cozy, the rooms were super clean and beautifully decorated. We loved also the little touches, green tea shampoos and aromatic temple rub, robes for the hot tub and the extra padding on the bed. Breakfast was fabulous.... with fresh made croissants and the friendly chatting from the hosts Brooke and Chad. We also made it one evening for Pizza and Beer, and loved that as well.

I guess we really just loved the atmosphere. Totally laid back and a little pampering... and if a mom of two young children who were even with her at the time can say that, that says a lot. :)

We will be back, no doubt about that.... and we'll share it with others too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The room was big and comfortable, Brooke and Chad were very friendly and efficient, however, they took two days off and the person in charge couldn't really manage. Our room wasn't cleaned for the day ,"she didn't have the time and the maid was sick". We only got fresh towels, and the bar was locked.
The lodge is beautiful but in need of a good scrub.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Horse Lodge

Address: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Horse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique mountain lodge, just 100 paces from the gondola at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. 10 rooms with spa style bathrooms, featherbeds, down duvets and quality linens. Deluxe suite with private jacuzzi and large sitting area. Guest lounge area with wood burning fireplace. A full hot mountain breakfast is included each day. Onsite restaurant/bar lounge and hottub. An exceptional mountain lodge experience for skiers, summer travelers and ideal for small intimate weddings, family gatherings or small corporate getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copper Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Horse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.