We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MMmmmmm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Bend Cafe

The Big Bend Cafe
528 9th Ave N, Golden, British Columbia BC V0A 1H0, Canada
(250) 344-6111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 50 Restaurants in Golden
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“MMmmmmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Terrific homemade breakfasts and great coffee. Kids were entertained reading all the funny little signs on the walls. Will be our new tradition in Golden. Only sad that we missed eating there on our way home because it closes at 2 pm.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not so Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Loved the decor and staff were helpful but rather disappointed in the end. We stopped for lunch and noticed a focus on Mexican fare so tried a couple of dishes. Found both the quesadillas and the Mexican lasagna very average. Lacked any real ziing, the high point was the Mexi-fries, loaded with paprika and topped with cheese. Also found the meals slow to appear, it's always frustrating watching people who came in after you get their meals five minutes before yours appears.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

After reading all kinds of great reviews I had high expectations of this cafe. Unfortunately the most important aspect one wants in an eatery is quality food - well, this person does. It was a huge disappointment in that regard. After what felt like an extremely long time, our plates finally arrived - the Benny's (eggs Benedict Big Bend style) - were COLD. Cold Eggs Benedict isn't the best. The decor gives this cafe a special atmosphere - interesting experience. Lots to read while you wait... Their $2 bottomless coffee is very good - a 9.5 out of 10 - it also makes the wait seem a bit shorter.
When paying the bill, I explained to "the boss" that our food would have been great had it been hot. I was told I should have told him before - yet he was nowhere to be found (!!!). No apologies.

Now for another VERY important detail - SMILES. None were received although many were given. I guess the tourist season is taking its toll.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good breakfast - slammed service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Went in for a breakfast recently and while the food was good and the waitress was very nice, she was definitely swamped as she had to serve both tables inside and on the patio. Felt very bad for her!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

How good was it? 3 days in a row we had 2 eggs, bacon, toast and awesome home fries all for $9. Nice clean patio with great view of the mountains makes for very enjoyable meal.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Bend Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Big Bend Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Big Bend Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.