We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Bend Cafe

The Big Bend Cafe
528 9th Ave N, Golden, British Columbia BC V0A 1H0, Canada
(250) 344-6111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 49 restaurants in Golden
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This is a great place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

For breakfast or lunch. Wholesome and delicious fare. Open only till 2 pm. The atmosphere is unique and comfy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    25
    11
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Affordable stop for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A local parent recommended the Big Bend to us as an affordable place for breakfast. Cozy restaurant with lots of books, toys and even chalk on the patio to distract the kids.

Food is not spectacular but breakfast was hearty and worth the value. Service was a bit slow.

It was very hot when we visited. Big Bend has no air conditioning and the rickety patio umbrellas are limited in how much shade they offer. If you have a stroller, there are stairs at the front door, so leave it behind or enter through the patio which has a level entrance from the far side.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great place for breakfast, opens at 7.30. Specials were awesome and the extensive menu was excellent. Good staff and quick service. They also served lunch but we didn't try it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of my all time favourite places for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It is easy when you are a local to take for granted the places in your town, normally I leave my reviews for places I visit on holiday...once maybe twice! The Big Bend Cafe is my breakfast place in Golden, I have been there many times & on each occasion the food is excellent. I would also go so far as to say this is one of my favourite breakfast places anywhere & I've been to a fair few around the world. The menu for such a small town is really rather extensive; there are breakfast sandwiches, healthy granola type options, omelettes, scrambles, numerous eggs benedict choices as well as the usual multi egg sausage bacon steak pancake affairs. Many of the ingredients are made in house such as the sausages & the nicely spicy chorizo. My own favourite (at the moment!) is the Big Boy Benny ($11ish); 2 poached eggs on top of caramelised onions, home made chorizo served with hollandaise sauce & panfries. I also love the pancakes here so usually order a single side ($1) to go with this. The pancakes are multi-grain so incredibly filling. This place can be popular so be prepared to wait a while for your order if you arrive during such times. They also do a selection of sandwiches, burgers, salads & mexican dishes. Alcoholic drinks are available. I'm a spice-a-holic so an additional bonus is the shelf of spicy sauces you can help yourself to - there must be at least 30 there. Opening hours are from 7.30am until 2pm ( I really really wished they stayed open later!). This cafe is a cracker & beats hands down anything you will find up on the highway.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place was very busy at noon on a Sunday. The food was good. Service was slow, but they were very busy. The best part were the things hanging on the walls - antiques and old stuff, plus "old" signs. These things made it easier to wait for the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Bend Cafe also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Big Bend Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Big Bend Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.