We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rocky Mountain Buffalo Ranch & Guest Cottage Buffalo Tours
1739 Oberg Johnson Road, Golden, British Columbia V0A1H1, Canada
+1 250-344-4779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Golden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rocky Mountain Buffalo Ranch & Guest Cottage ~ Buffalo Tours. A working Buffalo & Guest Ranch. We offer educational buffalo tours daily May thru September and year round accommodations in our fully furnished guest cottage and our peaceful cabin by the creek. Make yourself at home, see buffalo in their natural social order, learn about them first hand, wander the ranch and our pristine river frontage on the beautiful Blaeberry River, and come Dog Sledding with us starting December 2014 !!
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We came down to check out the Ranch on our Honeymoon in the off season while waiting for the Wolf Rescue to open and Leo was ready to drop his work to show us around. He was very knowledgeable and friendly, ready to answer any questions and talk about his passion. We will definitely come back for another visit when we are in the area and say hello and get some meat!
An amazing spot to live! Surrounded by mountains, great to see the animals up close and hear his interesting stories :D

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's as if you are family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The experience at Rocky Mountain Buffalo Ranch tour is NOT to be missed. Leo Downey shares his passion and knowledge of these noble beasts. He has a very unique way of making one feel comfortable from the start..like you are visiting an old friend. The area is stunningly gorgeous and the icing on the cake is not only is Mr. Downey an experienced buffalo rancher and wilderness guide, he is an amazing musician. If you are lucky, perhaps he will play you a tune on his guitar..if not..you have the opportunity to purchase a CD....a way to relive that beautiful day you spent at RMBR. You will,want to go back..and bring lots of friends!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very special experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Leo gave us a very unique tour. Some members of my family don´t speak english so well, but everybody understood Leo. Quite amazing. You could feel that his heart belongs to the buffaloes and his farm. He told us a lot of interest things.about the buffaloes and the North American Nature. Leos music is the soundtrack of our Canada trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating buffalo experience – and even more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

In August 2012 we spent some time in Golden, BC, where we read something about the Rocky Mountain Buffalo Ranch. So we decided to go there, spontaneous, to meet the buffaloes. What a good decision!
Leo not only showed us his herd of buffaloes, but also teached us a lot about life in the wilderness of BC and California. He gave us interesting views about buffaloes, indians and their tools, music... and finally we were talking and laughing about what we know about the "wild west" due to german western comic magazines :-)

All in all we had a great time with a wonderful host – interesting, funny, very personal! Thanks, Leo, for a wonderful buffalo experience, no one should miss!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Time well spent :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently went on a trip to Golden with the intention to mountain bike, but, I came down with a cold. Determined to have a nice weekend anyhow, we set out to explore, and stumbled upon Leo's buffalo ranch. I was a bit skeptical at first, but this turned out to be a very enjoyable hour! Leo is very passionate about what he does, and kindly shared his knowledge and stories about his herd. I learned things I never knew about buffalo before - very interesting facts! We were lucky that he had just fed them when we arrived so we got to stand up close to them all and watch them interacting with one another. The tour ends with Leo showing some very cool artifacts and things made from buffalo bones and wool. Loved this - highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Mountain Buffalo Ranch & Guest Cottage Buffalo Tours also viewed

 
Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Rocky Mountain Buffalo Ranch & Guest Cottage Buffalo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Buffalo Ranch & Guest Cottage Buffalo Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.