We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location offset by average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle's Eye Restaurant - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort

Eagle's Eye Restaurant - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
1500 Kicking Horse Trail | PO Box 839, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
+1 250-439-5413
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eagle's Eye Restaurant - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in Golden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Eagle’s Eye Restaurant is located at 7700 feet; the Summit of Kicking Horse Mountain. Hand carved tabletops; local timbers and stonework provide an elegant setting. Floor to ceiling windows frame panoramic views of the Rocky, Purcell and Selkirk Mountain ranges. The Rocky Mountain cuisine is complimented by an outstanding selection of Canadian wine and artisan beer. Join us for lunch daily, dinner (Friday and Saturday)or at one of our Summer Dinner Concert Series evenings. Reservations are accepted at lunch for groups larger than 6 and are recommended for dinner.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location offset by average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

What a cool idea! Ride the gondola all the way to the top of the mountain for dinner. Very romantic as long as you remembered to wear your woolies. They give you a thin blanket which is inadequate so be prepared! This place is all about the presentation. It looks the way it should for that price and so do the wait staff, but the actual food was disappointing. Probably if you just stuck to wine and romance it would be fine.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    47
    14
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

First class restaurant at the top of the mountain. Food and service were out of this world, and the views were worth the gondola trip. A "must" for any visitor to Golden/Kicking Horse.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great views and a great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

On the top of the mountain is this restaurant. You have some great views up there and a very good menu. Prices are a lot lower then you might think. Good staff, good food,just go there....

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Get there before sunset!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a 7 pm reservation ..when we checked our reservation something had gone wrong so they accomodated us an hour earlier..it was ok by us..we decide to go up around 5h30 to get a cocktail..lucly for us because the whole show the sunset and the surrounding peaks and valleys would have been invisible to see....basically everyone who shows up after dark at the highest restaurant in Canada see nothing but darkness ..so what s the point!!Get there early

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We were in Kicking Horse over Christmas and New Year and actually visited the Eagle's Eye three times during our stay.
The first visit was a very pleasant lunch, the second a more adventurous trip up in the gondola at night. It seemed like it was going to be hassle, but the very helpful staff give you blankets and put a light in the gondola to show you are on your way up. And it is worth it for the excellent food and service. We had scallops to start, followed by beef for the hubby and venison for me. Both beautifully cooked and presented. We then went mad and had a desert, a work of art in itself.
I would have put a positive review on Trip Advisor for these very positive experiences anyway, but it was the third visit that stuck out in my mind.
We arrived and were seated very quickly, then minutes later, the Ski Patrol arrived to advise everyone that the mountain was closed and that we would have to remain in the restuarant until they reopened the mountain (there had been an accident which they needed to attend to).
At that point, the staff at the Eagle's Eye just went up to a whole new level. The restaurant filled to beyond capacity within minutes, and the staff did an amazing job getting everyone chairs (some admittedly in the corridor but still comfortable), drinks, food and anything else they could to make life good for those of us trapped at the top of the mountain in freezing temperatures and icy winds.
It was a remarkable feet and when, an hour an a half later, the mountain reopened, we were all ready to go, with the mountain to ourselves!!
All I can say is, well done and thanks. Great food, great service.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle's Eye Restaurant - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort also viewed

 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Eagle's Eye Restaurant - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle's Eye Restaurant - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.