We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service that went the extra Mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Corner Bed and Bale

Save Saved
You added Bear Corner Bed and Bale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Corner Bed and Bale
2054, Blaeberry Rd., Golden, British Columbia V0A-1H1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Specialty lodging in Golden
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service that went the extra Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My young family and I went on a horseback ride. Al and Linda were great with the kids. Al was happy to answer all our questions about the area and vegetation. The horses all behaved well. The whole experience was one that we all really enjoyed. I would highly recommend Bear corner Bed and Bale to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My mother and I were visiting Calgary and decided to head to the mountains for a retreat.
We found Bear Corner online, and decided to book a one night stay! We did the "Saddle, Steak and Sleep Special" and had an amazing time! Al took us on an extremely scenic trail ride though fields, the river, and the forest (all surrounded by mountains). The horses were wonderful trail horses, and Al was filled with tons of information in regards to the land and nature.

Bear Corner only has one cabin on their property. When standing infront of the door, you can see mountain peeks, the paddocks and the sun setting above both. There are 2 rooms inside of the cabin. When you first walk in there is a living room/kitchen area (fouton, stove, tv, table etc.). The back room is the sleeping quarters with a washroom attached. There is no AC, but there is a lovely breeze at night that keeps the place cool. It only makes sense to take in as much fresh air as possible when your out there!

For dinner, Al made us a super tasty meal consisiting of a cowboy style steak, baked potatoes, veggies, garlic bread, salad, and desert (I feel like there was more, but I don't remember what else there was). Al and his wife work as a team, but when we were visiting his wife was out of town, so he took the lead on everything. My mother and I invited him to join us for dinner, and chatted away during the whole meal.

This was truely a wonderful experience. The value is amazing considering most trail rides that are 3 + hours will cost you around the same price as it cost us to eat, sleep and ride!
This place is a hidden gem, and we would love to return if we ever find ourselves on that side of Canada again!!

- For those with trailers, there is room for you to park.
- For those of you who would prefer camping, you can set up your tent there for a fraction of the price.
-There are various other packages available (ex. including white water rafting)
-You can just go for a trail ride ....or.... you can just go for the accomodations if you are not a fan of horses.

NOTE: You will be sore afterwards if you are not an avid rider! Muscles will be worked (muscles you never thought you had) ... the pain is totally worth it!


NOTE: At the time of this trip, my mother was 52 and I was 22.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We didn't stay here, but wanted to do a short guided horse ride in the area and Al (or 'BJ') came highly recommended by the owners of the lodge we were staying in a few miles down the road. We had a fantastic two hours. Neither of us has much previous experience with horses, but BJ was a great and the horses well trained and the gear good. The ride itself was stunning - unbelievable scenery (you are in a valley surrounded by amazing mountains) and amazing wildlife. We went in late September and the Kokanee salmon run was on and the place was alive with both Bald and Golden eagles - we must have seen more than a dozen Bald eagles and half a dozen Golden eagles. The best bit was on horseback they appeared unafraid and you could get within 20m or so without difficulty. The route we rode was lovely - criss-crossing the Blaeberry river several times. 'BJ' also proved to be a highly knowledgeable guide - whether on flora or fauna or geology! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I had such an amazing stay at Bear Corner, the horses were beautifully grazing outside of our cabin, Al was a great host. It was a dream vacation!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed here one night but wished it could have been more! It is one cabin with all the amenities that you could want. Clean, quiet and the best views of the mountains with the horses just out front. Al was a great host and we had a wonderful ride through the area. Loads of beautiful nature and the real chance of seeing a bear.
There is also a small area to put up a tent if that is what you prefer, as well as a nice firepit and wood for a good evening fire.

This would be a great couples get away. Or just to get out for some peace and quiet.

Remember to bring cash for payment, the nearest ATM is not all that near!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bear Corner Bed and Bale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Corner Bed and Bale

Address: 2054, Blaeberry Rd., Golden, British Columbia V0A-1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Specialty lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bear Corner Bed and Bale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Corner Bed and Bale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.