We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1340 Kauffman View, Golden, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary and booked a one bedroom home in Aspens. The Resort is located 14km from the town of Golden and is a beautiful drive up. The home itself was extremely clean and welcoming. The weather was great while we were there and utilized the deck and bbq. Staff are very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Rooms Division Manager at Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you kindly for your wonderful review from your recent stay with us at Aspens at Kicking Horse and an extended congratulations from the Bellstar Team at Kicking Horse with respect to celebrating your first wedding anniversary. I can’t say enough how pleased I am to hear your wonderful comments on the cleanliness and amenities of the unit along with the mention of the staff. We really appreciate that you could take the time to make the contribution to Trip Advisor and perhaps we can make this an annual occurrence by having you celebrate future anniversaries with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

A group of us rented four Aspen homes for our annual golf retreat. Typically we've gone to Panorama but thought we would try out Golden this year and decided to stay at Kicking Horse. The homes were unbelievable! They suited 8 guys for the weekend and the BBQ's were a nice touch. We have already made tentative plans to come back in October. The resort is in their "Off Season" which is great! Very quiet and you can avoid the hustle and bustle of all the people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Rooms Division Manager at Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for making time to share your comments with us from your annual golf retreat and your accommodations at Aspens at Kicking Horse. The Off Season is always a nice time to come and enjoy the peacefulness of the Rockies and avoid the busier times during Winter and Summer. If you’re planning another retreat near the end of summer please be sure to book directly through Bellstar Hotels & Resorts to learn about our Golf & Stay packages that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Thank you Aspens at Kicking Horse for the fabulous stay at your resort this past weekend. Your customer service was top notch from accommodating us with an early check in so our baby daughter would be able to have a nap, to responding to emails in a timely manner; the list goes on to how friendly and professional this team at Aspens and Bellstar are.

The unit was outstanding, modern and the hot tub is a great bonus. The kitchen had everything you need for a mountain getaway.

Thanks again Aspens...we will most definitely be back!!

The Grahams

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Rooms Division Manager at Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your Mountain Getaway at the Aspens at Kicking Horse with the Trip Advisor Community. I was excited to ready your candid review and the excellent feedback you were able to provide with regards to our Staff. Please make sure when you make your next reservation directly with Bellstar Hotels & Resorts you ask about our Return Guest Rate for additional savings. Thank you once again for your review and we looking forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in nearby Mountaineer Lodge and decided to extend our stay by two nights and upgraded to an Aspen unit. Big deck, BBQ, private hot tub and not to mention high end furnishings. I would highly recommend paying the extra few dollars to experience one of these units!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Rooms Division Manager at Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review from your stay at Aspens at Kicking Horse. I glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our luxurious Aspen units. The amenities are defiantly a hit with our guests as well as the excellent views overlooking the Ski Hill. Please make sure to Like us on Facebook to stay current with our latest deals and events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I planned a weekend ski trip with a group of friends, we decided to rent #1601 of the resort homes that are managed by Bellstar. The website said this was one of the newest in the rental units and it certainly didn't disappoint! Upon arrival I found a handwritten note with my name on it signed by Kicking Horse executives, how personal and welcoming! Housekeeping was quick to respond to our needs and bring us any little extras that we needed (dish soap, paper towel, etc.) and in fact it was hand delivered by the executive housekeeper Brandy Beliveau. Again the level of personalized customer service was outstanding! The property was well maintained with no issues that arose during our stay. Interactions with the front desk were always pleasant and professional, but seemed to genuinely love their job. Along with having great accommodations we were also lucky to hit a weekend with record breaking snow, we were able to relax in our private hot tub! What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your candid review from your winter escape with us at one of our luxury mountain homes at beautiful Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. I’m thrilled that you were able to enjoy the amenities not to mention the wicked powder you got to experience. Thank you as well for making note of our Executive Housekeeper; I will be certain to share your comments with the entire Team. Once again thank you for taking the time to contribute to the Trip Advisor community and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Had some problems booking the property with Bellstar.
Had two random charges on my credit card and had to call Bellstar twice to get a refund.
Keep an eye on your credit card bill when booking this property.
Call centre stall was not very helpful at resolving the issues.
Otherwise great property and well maintained.
Loved the hot tub on the balcony.
Will be back but book online next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor community from your recent stay with us at the Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. I would like to apologise for the concerns you brought forward with respect to the charges applied to your credit card. Our Management Team has since provided some follow up training with our Guest Services Team to ensure we avoid such issues. I’m glad that you enjoyed the property as a whole and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and two teenagers recently stayed for 4 nights at the Aspens Condos at the Kicking Horse Ski Resort in Golden BC. We rented a two bedroom on hill ski in ski out condo thru Bellstar resorts, the managers of The Aspens. There were some glitchcs before we arrived and also on the day of arrival. First the front desk staff kept over-charging my credit card and I had to call or email to have the charges reversed. On a positive note, every time I did call or email, someone got back to me right away and fixed the charge, and apologized for new staff having training issues. Annoying yes, but it was looked after.

We were told up front that check in was not until 4pm, and we arrived at 2:30 and asked if we could check in early. We were told no as there had been someone in there that day and they needed the time to clean up. No biggie, off we went to a local resturant for some beer and food. When 4pm came, we went back to our assigned unit, only to find it fully occupied by a family who showed us proof that they had in fact rented it for the next 4 days. So we were left stranded on the hill and had a really hard time phoning anyone at the front desk due to really bad cell service. The Aspens have no on site front desk, they are fully self contained units with door codes. So, we were in the process of leaving the hill in search of better service when the folks in the unit we thought we had rented got Bellstar on their condo phone for us.

We were naturally irate after having driven for 4 hours to get there and waitied an additional 1.5 to get in. We were then told there had been another mistake made by front desk staff and we in fact were given the wrong unit number and the wrong door code... SO... off we went to our REAL unit and finally got in. Then we discovered the unit had no BBQ as we were promised and no working condo phone.

So once again we had to fight with crappy cell service to talk to the remote front desk to try and get this fixed. After several phone calls cutting in and out, we finally got them to send us someone personally from the town (where the front desk is, about 15 minutes away), to speak to us in person to resolve all our issues. Oh yeah, and I also discovered they had charged my credit card AGAIN, then reveresed the charge all in one day. Needless to say we were pretty mad at this point.

Now this is where the vacation got turned around in a positive way in a huge hurry. They sent us a person by the name of Tim Charron, who is the supervisor at the Aspens. He arrived in person about 5pm and unfortunately got the full brunt of our anger and frustration. He politely let us vent, and also showed up with a bottle of wine. We explained about the random visa charges and about the bbq and other things that bothered us. He was excellent. He assured us he would fix everything, and left. Then he returned about 6pm with yet another bottle of wine, told me all the charges would be fixed and a bit refunded for our trouble, and also got a bbq himself and assembled it on our deck. Then he made sure our propane tank was full so we didnt run into that glitch later on and did this all by himself quite late at night.

After he finally left, it occured to me that he had to deal with a lot in a short period of time and was so super, I felt the need to immediately email him and tell him so. Oh yeah he also left us his personal cell and email in case we had ANY other problems. He turned our vacation completely around. Then he pro-actively touched base with me the next day to see if we needed anything else?

Ok, now for the rest of the property. The condo was very nice and right on the hill for ski in ski out. The hot tub on the deck was crystal clean and worked perfectly. It was a dream to come back after a day of skiing and sit in your own personal hot tub under the stars sipping a drink. The place is quite new and was well appointed. The ski hill was also very nice and had great snow, and we had a fantastic time. Given the way the vacation started out, this could have ended up differently, but as it stands, with customer service like that, and such an awesome location and condo, we will definately be back! I do not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone!

cheers

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Thank you for your candid review from your stay at Aspens at Kicking Horse. I'm very sorry for how your trip started off bur I'm happy to see if ended on a positive note. Our staff takes great pride to ensure that our Guests have an unforgettable time and I'm glad our Guest Services Supervisor was able to do so. Once again thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor and we hope you can make it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort

Address: 1340 Kauffman View, Golden, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in 2008, The Aspens is perched high on the east side of the Kicking Horse Mountain Village. Featuring 14 townhomes ranging from 670 square foot 1-bedroom suites, to 768 square foot 2-bedroom units plus all the amenities you desire for a weekend getaway or week long retreat. Nothing is better after a long day of adventure than rejuvenating your body in a private hot tub on your deck over looking the stunning Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspens at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.