We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal out in Golden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Restaurant

The Island Restaurant
101 Gould's Island | 10th Avenue, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
250-344-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in Golden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Continental, Asian fusion, Canadian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can stop in for a continental breakfast, quick soup, salad or sandwich, or relax and dine on one of our Asian inspired starters followed by an entrée of local game. Dishes prepared using our fresh produce grown on "the Island". Come ask for a tour!!Convenient Online Reservations on our website.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Best meal out in Golden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We ate at the Island Resteraunt on the last day of our Golden vacation. My family arrived just at open and we were able to have a nice lunch on the patio. This was well worth it as we were able to overlook the Kickinghorse River and listen to the peaceful water as we ate.

The service was great as the waitress was able to special order a kids meal pizza for our little girl. She also was aware of her nut allergy and assured us that the food would be specially prepared as the kitchen had a procedure for allergies!

The burger and chicken sandwiches were awesome.

To me this is a great little rustic resteraunt. A true gem hidden on the island in Golden.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    84
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice addition to Golden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This 3 1/2 year old eatery is a welcome addition to the Golden dining scene, especially after the demise of the Kicking Horse Grill. The 8 oz Caramelized Halibut (27) is a serious piece of fish, served with basmati rice and stir-fried Asian veg. Quite good, but this cooking method does leave the fish a tad dry. The pie made with home-grown crabapples (7) was also quite good. To find The Island, go south across the river bridge - it's immediately on the right. Park in the rear or a bit south of the building, then enjoy the deck on the 2nd floor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food in a great town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

After years of driving by, we finally stopped here for dinner. We have enjoyed meals in Golden at Cedar House and Eleven22 in the past and this was just as superb. The Duck Salad was excellent. Great hamburgers. Kid friendly and great wine list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh, homemade spectacular food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I've had the opportunity to eat at Island Restaurant several times and have always been impressed. The bread and pasta is as fresh as can be(you can smell it baking). As a Chef of 13 years I appreciate the safistication of the menu with options for every pallet.
The Monday and Tuesday Mexican feature menu is fantastic! The braised and Duck salad are perfect for men and women on the beautiful rooftop patio.
The service has always been welcoming and sincere, making you feel at home.
I would recommend the Island restaurant to anyone for breakfast, lunch or dinner to corporate events or weddings. Top notch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Super Service, Not-so-great Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I gave 3 stars only because the service was so exceptional. We found a seat on the patio overlooking the river. Jocelyn, our server, was fantastic. I had the Pesto Fettuccini. The noodles were so over-cooked, it was like eating mush. The flavor was okay, but I'd have liked more parmesan. The garlic bread it came with lacked garlic. My wife had the BBQ chicken pizza. I ate a couple slices of it, the crust was uninspired and the chicken didn't taste like anything. The sauce was hardly BBQ. I don't like BBQ on pizza, but my wife couldn't eat the whole thing by herself. I couldn't really taste much BBQ in there. The restaurant is really clean, really big and the service great. But we found our meals to lack flavor and execution.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Restaurant also viewed

 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.