We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Swiss Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss Village Inn
1107 14th Street North | West End of Golden, Box 765, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Golden
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This motel room was clean, staff are friendly, and the room was quiet, even though it was close to the Transcanada highway. The two queen beds were very comfortable. There was a small fridge, two chairs and a table - but no coffee maker, no free breakfast, and only an instant coffee maker in the front lobby. Yes, as pointed out by a night staff lady, there was a Tim Hortons a five minute walk away. For $89 per night my companion and I agreed coffee should be provided in the room. I would not stay here again as a result. Their competitors provide this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
10
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed there for one night with my mom. Payed $88 + taxes for non smoking, no pet room with 2 queen beds. Front desk lady was nice. Used the hot tub and sauna which were private, a bit dated but adequate. Bathroom looked and felt very clean which I was surprised about - tile floor was nice and shiny. The bed and rest of the room appeared clean and I slept well. Never used the A/C as it was late September. No elevator that I could find - not a problem for me and my mom but would be for disabled persons.
Overall, this Inn served our needs - a clean place to sleep for a good price, close to highway 1 and that had a hot tub to warm me up before bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here only because it was the last hotel available when I was driving home from Vancity on the long weekend. No vacancy at the other hotels so we were forced to stay here.

I paid $130 for one room for 1 night. It felt like I stepped in a time machine into the 70's. The room felt and smelled so old and nasty My girlfriend slept in our sleeping bag. They use regular keys for the doors to the rooms. Walmart brand TV's have 20 channels and 2 that didn't work. WIFI was crap. The old chinese lady at the front desk was nice. I wouldn't come back though.

Room Tip: Go to the Ramada
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dansville, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The lady who obviously owned the place was friendly and never charged my charge account until we actually arrived.

It was pretty run down but it served the purpose. We were just there to sleep and shower and continue our trip.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room if you want convenience. You can drive right up to your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Qu'appelle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel has seen better days. There were goog old fashioned keys instead of the security card for the room entrance, and the doors beat up from years of luggage banged against it. That said, the room was okay, reasonably clean, and the furnishings better than the exterior would suggest. No dining, so you can play 'dodge the bullet' trying to walk across the Trans Canada, or drive to eat. It was reasonable for the price, but for the same price, maybe there is a place where food is within walking distance

Room Tip: Check your dining needs before you commit to a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for one night as we overnighted in Golden. Just needed. Bed and shower that were clean and this fit the bill. Nothing glamorous but friendly staff and clean. We parked our car and were able to bike everywhere in town. Close to quick food and highway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

theperson at the front desk was very friendly and helpful when it came to finding things in town. the room nothing fancy but it was spacious, very clean and reasonably priced. Will definately stop there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Village Inn

Address: 1107 14th Street North | West End of Golden, Box 765, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Swiss Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.