We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnighter, On the Road” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Limited Golden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Limited Golden to your Saves list
Ramada Limited Golden
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1311 12th St North, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    106
    67
    18
    5
See reviews for
67
87
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed in Golden several times over the past year or so and this has been our best experience so far. I am coming to realize that my expectations cannot be set too high for Golden, particularly along Highway 1. I didn't feel I received the best value, but everything in Golden (i.e., food, fuel, hotels) seems to be significantly more than neighbouring communities. I think they are taking full advantage of their somewhat remote location.

The property is modern though well used. The bathroom, furniture, and room appliances (i.e., microwave oven) all showed signs of wear but were clean and functional and in good working order.

The room was surprisingly quiet (remember, this is on the Trans-Canada highway) and we had a restful sleep.

The pool and hot tub were clean and comfortable - I have had my share of out-of-service pools!

The (included) breakfast room was well stocked with continental offerings and met our needs for up-and-on-the-road dining.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and (though I'm still on the hunt for something better) will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at Ramada Limited Golden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
thankyou for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here after a long drive from Vancouver. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. We had a 2 bedroom suite, but the room layout made it feel quite small. The fridge and microwave were handy. It has a pool and hot tub, but we were too tired to use it.

It can get a little noisy if there is a "heavy walker" above you, as we heard footsteps pounding overhead in the middle of the night.

Front-desk staff is friendly and very helpful. They have a surprisingly large breakfast area, but the breakfast itself is very plain (waffle iron, yogurt, cereal, bagels, etc.).

The only real concern I have is that we paid quite a bit more for this hotel than we did for other hotels along the way on our 2-week trip, yet we received less in the terms of room comfort and breakfast quality. For almost $200, the least they could have done is provide a better breakfast. However, I guess that's what the market is in the mountains in summer.

Other than the price point, the hotel was ok and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Consider a top-floor room. On the lower floor, we heard the footsteps of the guests above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at Ramada Limited Golden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
thank you for the review and we apppreciate your thoughts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were looking for a convenient overnight stop after driving from Jasper along the Icefields Parkway as well as a starting point for visiting Glacier National park and Revelstoke National park the next day.
We were pleasantly suprised with the quality and price of this hotel. Reception was friendly and helpfull and I liked the convenient express checkout in the morning. The room was a good size and very clean and comfortable. The free WIFI worked well in our room and the the hotel was conveniently located just off the highway which was what we wanted and there were various types of eateries on the highway not too far from the hotel.
The breakfast was included in the price and was more than sufficient in quality and quantity. The only negative for us was that the breakfast room was far too small for the number of people and we had a small wait before we could get a seat. I also felt it was strange that the dishwasher was located in the same area rather than in a different room as I had the feeling I was getting in the way of the staff doing the clean up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at Ramada Limited Golden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
thank you for the good review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Needed an overnight stop next to the highway and this place does exactly that. There are a few mid level hotels in Golden that are pretty much only there because of the highway. That said, it is the second time I've used the Ramada and it is perfectly adequate. The rooms are clean, it's reasonably priced, and the staff are friendly and efficient. It has a small gym and pool. There is a nice steak and burger joint across the street serving giant portions and nice cocktails.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at Ramada Limited Golden, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for the good review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My review is based on the fact there is nothing higher than a 3 star hotel in Golden. This property is very good considering the level and brand of hotel.

The Pros

- Good location right off the highway which is convenient for an overnight stopover.
- Very clean property.
- Friendly and efficient front desk staff.
- Decent size room, decent flat screen t.v., good shower pressure, and very comfy bed.
- Reasonably priced.

The Cons

- A little noisy. Ramada's seem to appeal to families with young children that like to run and scream in the halls. It can be annoying after a long day of travel when you hear this in the hall at night. Bad parents, not the hotels fault.
- WiFi wasn't the fastest which makes it impossible to watch Netflix.

Overall a great place to stay in Golden for a night or 2 if you are looking for a clean and comfy place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at Ramada Limited Golden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
thank you for the review and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Ramada on our way to Canmore. We found the staff friendly, the rooms suitable for what we needed. Beds were fine, enough towels and a fridge to keep food cool. We used the pool although it was a tad cool. Breakfast in the morning was filling with plenty of selection. We would stay again if we were to pass though in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at Ramada Limited Golden, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
thankyou for the good review look forward to welcoming to Ramada again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Limited Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Golden

Address: 1311 12th St North, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Limited Golden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Limited Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Golden Hotel Golden
Ramada Golden
Golden Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Limited Golden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.