We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a small town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Limited Golden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Limited Golden to your Saves list
Ramada Limited Golden
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1311 12th St North, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in a small town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I was recently here for 1 night.

The hotel is pretty conveniently located on the highway. Golden itself is pretty small so while this hotel isn't in their "downtown" area, that means it's only a 5 minute drive.

The hotel looks to be one of the newest in Golden. The rooms were of an expected quality for this type of hotel. The HVAC system worked well and it was a wall-mounted unit by the window. My room faced the highway but I didn't notice that it was noisy. Internet is wifi only but the speeds seemed decent. There wasn't any sort of authentication needed so security may be an issue.

The hotel also offers a free continental breakfast. The only hot item are waffles but they have boiled eggs, cereal, and fruit.

I skipped this and went to a 50's-themed diner across the highway. I forget the name but there's only one diner. The breakfast special was competitively priced and bigger than your normal Denny's type fare. It wasn't bad at all but the coffee was a bit watered down.

All-in-all, there were no complaints for this hotel and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    100
    67
    18
    5
See reviews for
66
84
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Ramada in Golden. We had the choice, and took it, to get a room with three queen size beds. Great if you're travelling with a family. We never went to the pool/hot tub so cannot comment. Continental breakfast was great with all your basics - cereal, toast, muffins, fruit, waffles, juices, yogurt, oatmeal. The rooms had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker which were nice to have. Also wireless internet in the rooms. Location is on the highway, not in town. You do have some options within walking distance including Tim Hortons, a couple restaurants and a liquor store.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This would be an OK place, but the walls are so thin, you can hear everything in the hall, in the adjoining rooms and on the floor above. Breakfast was pretty good. It was clean. Couldn't get the fan to come on to drown the noise. Wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor at the end of the hall. Maybe quieter???
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Probably one of the best alternatives for a stopover in Golden. The hotel has everything a traveller could ask for: large, clean rooms, a laundry, complimentary breakfast, a pool, a fitness room. I tried out the latter on the morning of our departure: all the equipment was in good condition and good working order. The only thing which I didn't quite like about it was the background music. Hiphop before 8am??????

The breakfast made up for that though: there was a good selection of bagels, cereals and do-it-yourself waffles on offer. That the guests have to muck in and stack dirty dishes in the bins provided created a kind of nice community spirit - kind of like the youth hostels you used to stay in as a student, but better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Good Hotel Destination for visiting the Glacier / Revelstoke NP. The Staff was very, very friendly and helpful. Our Room was clean and big enough. It´s ouside of Golden Downtown, so you need a car to go downtown.The Continental Breakfast was included and was ok - everything we needed was available. It has a small swimming pool, but we didn´t test it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

This motel has the cheapest rate on a 70 nite tour of Canada, were not expecting much so were not dissapointed. Rooms are basic & front ones face highway 1 so could be noisy. A request to move to a higher floor was quickly dismissed without any effort by staff. Tarrif included continental breakfast which was better that expected.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Carpets and decor from the 70's, a pullout couch that looked like it came out of somebody's basement. I didn't even want to put my luggage on it. Thank God nobody had to sleep on it.
We stayed here in July 2011 and on our western Canada tour this was the worst hotel we encountered.Threadbare carpets in the hallways, staff that didn't seem to care whatsoever - even when a problem was reported. Oh yes, the blond airhead at the front desk in a hoodie! Really professional. The grounds consist of a parking lot and there is actually a trailer park right behind this hotel. Maybe that is where there sense of decor is coming from. The worst part was - this cost us $149 (CAN). It is barely a $70 a night hotel. Save your money and go elsewhere if you do have to stay in Golden.
My complaints to Ramada ended up in a letter offering us 20% off our next stay! As we live in Ontario there was not much chance of that. Even at 50% off they are still over priced!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Limited Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Golden

Address: 1311 12th St North, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Limited Golden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Limited Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Golden Hotel Golden
Ramada Golden
Golden Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Limited Golden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.