We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room with nice people.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponderosa Motor Inn

Ponderosa Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ponderosa Motor Inn to your Saves list
Ponderosa Motor Inn
1206 Trans-canada Highway, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good room with nice people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This place was nice...ish. The front desk staff was awesome. It's a clean place that they take pride in keeping up. We had a room with 3 Queen beds in it. The feng shui was odd and the bathroom was a bit small but overall we had a decent stay. Don't plan on having easily accessible electrical outlets.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    20
    5
    11
See reviews for
16
30
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is located right on highway one so it is easy to find. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet and clean but the rooms were a little dated. The price of the hotel was very affordable and made this a good eal. The breakfast was coffe, juice, toast and muffins which was enough to get you started in the morning. I would stay here again as it was good for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a excellent exprerience staying in Ponderosa Inn when we visited BC. Hospitality was very good. People are very friendly and helpful. Room price is very affordable. Hotel is very clean. I would highly reccomend people to stay there if at all you get a chance to stay in Golden, B.C.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter, clean, and less noicier.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We are a family from the Netherlands taking holiday in Canada. Pondarosa Inn is on the highway but ist is quiet and cosy. There is a lot of light on the surroundings and in the room. Room is very clean and pretty. And we were welcomed by Kathy in a very pleasant way. We got a lot of information about things to do and see. Whenever I will be in Golden again I certainley stay at Pondarosa Inn.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed two nights and I had the best nights sleep of my holiday.I was there the day after the mud slide closed the Highway 1. The area was full of trucks, all overnighting. Also the Ponderosa is quite a way from the dreaded railway! Asking for a quiet room, Kathy, ( The Hostess with the Mostest) gave me a room around the back.Spot On!! Never heard a thing. I would make a beeline for the Ponderosa if in the area. Many thanks Kathy.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Had to stop while driving on the trans-canada. Service was great and got a nice deal from the clerk.
Rooms are what you would expect for a $ 70 a night - nice bedding.
Breakfast is very limited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here several times when travelling between Alberta and BC. It is a great place to stay. The manager and her son could not be nicer people!!!! They always remember our names and go out of their way to ensure our stay is perfect. It is a great value, and the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponderosa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Motor Inn

Address: 1206 Trans-canada Highway, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ponderosa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Golden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponderosa Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.