We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiers need not apply” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
1024 11th Street North | Box 2400, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Skiers need not apply”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is a good choice for snowmobilers, no-fuss travelers and families. It has decent beds, lots a parking space, great pool for laps, quiet and clean. Plus, it is just off the Trans Canada hwy, and a 5 minute walk to Tim Horton's.

Skiers:
This hotel is not for us. Breakfast (must pay extra) is not available until 7:30am, which is a drag because breakfast is not available at Kicking Horse Ski Resort until 8:00am. However, if you choose to eat breakfast in thr room, you are in luck because there is a small fridge. No microwave. No early start for skiers. There is no shuttle to the resort so count on having everyone leave together.

Internet: Slow. No watching tv on your iPad but gets the job done for emails.

Overall, not a great deal for value but is conveniently located for an early morning exit right to the Trans Canada highway.

Room Tip: Bring your own coffee. The coffee machine allows you to bring your favourite grounded coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I am glad that you had a seamless enjoyable experience and appreciated the amenities that we offer. We are located within walking distance to the abc Restaurant which offers breakfast at 7:00 AM, and also a 24 hour Tim Horton’s. We are constantly working with our service provider to maintain appropriate WiFi coverage for our guests. I hope that we can be a part of your next ski trip through Golden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
26
23
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice spacious room. Quiet hotel. Friendly and helpful staff as we had questions on where to get a good dinner. The rooms are not as up to date as some of the newer Best Westerns but the beds were updated and great! Our room was immaculate. Breakfast not included at this hotel but was not a big deal to us. The only thing I could say is that I wish all the BW would service better coffee. The coffee at all of them has no taste and is weak. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your accomodations and our great staff. We know that getting a great sleep while travelling always makes the trip more enjoyable and we take pride in our superb beds. On you next trip through Golden, we hope you stay with us again and have a chance to enjoy the great menu items offered at the Lobby Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We decided to book a room here after looking on BringFido.com for hotels that allowed dogs in Golden. For an extra $20 we booked a room with two queen beds and a hide a bed so the kids wouldn't fight over sharing. When we arrived we discovered that there was some kind of mix up and they had given our room away. They ended up giving us the same room on a different floor even though they try to keep the pet rooms to the main floor. The room was huge! The inclusion of a continental breakfast would be a huge draw. The pool was nice and warm. The only issue I had was that we were next to the stairs and it was a bit noisy when the work crews that were staying there came down the stairs in their heavy work boots.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you sharing you experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your accomodations and the pool. I was glad to learn that we were able to place you in a comfortable room despite the initial mix up. We hope that your next stay with us will be totally worry free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed one night in the Golden BW and overall we had a great experience. We had a odd number room so we had a view of the mountains and ski runs. The even rooms would have a view of another hotel. The BW is 1/2 block off the service road and we heard no traffic from the busy HWY 1. Breakfast was not a included in the stay but they did have a small cafe on site which made great fresh food. Staff were very pleasant to deal with and they allowed us to get into the pool early so we could have a swim before checking out. Pet friendly rooms.
Will stay again!

Room Tip: Odd number rooms to get mountain view. Even rooms have view of another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast in the Lobby Cafe. Our professional staff is always happy to accomodate our guests with special requests whenever possible. They look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had to stop in Golden, BC on our trip through BC and did not a reservation at a hotel in town. We stopped at the Best Western because it was 1 block off the highway, it looked presentable and the Best Western chain has a good reputation. They had room for us and made sure that we were away from the elevators. The room was huge, the bathroom was huge, the bed was comfy and it was really quiet! What a great deal for such a modest price.
The next morning, we had breakfast in the cafe and we were amazed. No meager buffet with tired food. It was a full breakfast menu made from real ingredients by a server/cook who cared about what you wanted to eat! They have real eggs - not Egg Beaters, real has browns - not the frozen ones! What a delight! I will definitley stay here the next time I am in Golden, BC.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in upholding the Best Western I Care standards so that our guests have a comfortable, dependable stay. We hope that we can be a part of your next trip through BC as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Best Western and the Prestige Hotels in Golden belongs to the same chain, they are located one besides the other and they share some services like the the online reservation system.

However, they are totally different, being the Prestige the upscale version. Be carefull, because you will end paying $150+ for a room at the Best Western which is much lower in quality than a regular Motor-in.

This Best Western in Golden is all different than the others I know: This one is Noisy, old matrixes, smelly pillows, super loud toilets that you can here all night long from any room on the floor, etc, etc. Very bad exeperience.

Room Tip: Instead book a room at the Prestige Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take pride in maintaining Best Western high I Care standards. I will send you a private message to gain further information as to the room you stayed in as there seems to be some items that have slipped through our usually high housekeeping standards. Your input will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for giving us your feedback and we hope to welcome you back so that you can experience us at our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Also a disappointment is the bed covering that seems to be the new BW standard. Your choice is a overly-warm comforter, or just a sheet. Could I just have a blanket please?

If you dislike the smell of smoke, beware. Many of the rooms were formerly smoking rooms, and have not been properly converted, as other guests found out. I paid extra to stay in a (very large!) "family" room that had never been a smoking room.

Disappointed at no hot tub. Just a pool. Come on hotels! This is one of the things that (to me at least) separates a hotel from just a motel. A hot tub after long hours on the road is something I eagerly anticipate.

On the plus side, all the usuals that you would expect are in place - clean, quiet, very comfortable bed. Once my room cooled down to a reasonable temperature I slept great. Despite the hotel being right by the highway, I heard no road noise. Wi-fi signal was good, and the speed was excellent for a hotel connection.

In short, remarkably average. I'm not sure it's worth the price they charge, but since it's in a resort area it's to be expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased you had a good night’s sleep and apologize that we did not meet all your expectations. Our staff is available around the clock to assist our guests with needs such as blankets during their stay. We hope that on your next visit to Golden, you will try us out again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn

Address: 1024 11th Street North | Box 2400, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel situated off the Trans Canada Highway, 45 minutes west of Lake Louise. Spectacular mountain views. Deluxe family-size guestrooms, indoor heated swimming pool and guest laundry. Each guestroom features deluxe furnishings, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board and pay-per-view movies. Close to National Parks, hiking, skiing, golfing, whitewater rafting, snowmobiling and heli-skiing. Sport and Lifestyle packages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountainview Hotel Golden
Best Western Golden
Golden Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.