We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, awesome staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glacier Mountaineer Lodge to your Saves list
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1549 Kicking Horse Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, awesome staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Every aspect of our stay at the Glacier Mountaineer Lodge was beyond our expectations. Every single person we dealt with at this resort was friendly and helpful. All the waitresses were tops, Krista at the front desk went out of her way to a get us a much appreciated room upgrade, our room was sparkling clean and Maurizio and Kyle were fantastic skiing and boarding instructors. We highly recommend this resort...everything about our stay was great and the awesome people who work there made it exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Operations Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your excellent comments from your stay with us at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I’m pleased to hear that you had such an outstanding time and thank you for mentioning those who provided exceptional service during your stay. Should you make it out again this winter please ask about our Return Guest Rate for some additional savings. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    45
    23
    20
    10
See reviews for
49
75
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way through Golden and stayed in a 2 bedroom suite in the main lodge. The suite was very spacious. Having a full kitchen made for a fun and relaxing meal with the family (and saved us a few $ - pick up your groeceries in town BEFORE you head up to the lodge!). The towels and bedding were very clean and the bed very comfortable. Being off season, we had a quiet peaceful sleep. The underground parking made for easy unpacking and packing of the car.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Operations Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments from your stay with us at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge this past summer. The summer season at Kicking Horse offers plenty of activities, as well as a nice and peaceful environment as you alluded to. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here a few days with my son. We had two rooms en suite, one with a living room and kitchen, both with a great view on the Kicking Horse mountain. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and cozy rooms with everything you need. With indoor parking, a gym, a bar, restaurant and general store all in the same building, this was the perfect setting for one of the best holidays we ever had, filled with skiing, skidoo and relaxing. Absolutely priceless

Room Tip: Two rooms en suite, one with a kitchen, provides you with a living room to relax, have dinner and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Operations Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the great review from your recent stay with us at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am thrilled to hear that you had an exceptional time and got the opportunity enjoy the Kicking Horse Country. If you ever get the chance to visit us again, please ask about our Return Guest Rate for additional savings. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We recently spent a night in a basic room during ski season. The underground parking was excellent, rooms were very clean, sauna/hot tub facilities were as expected. The bed was quite firm and comfortable too.

The only negative I saw was that the room was very small. The bathroom and hall were a decent size, but the "room" was taken up by the bed, with about a two foot border on all three sides. It was a great room to spend a night during ski season, but it would quickly get cramped if I were staying more than a couple nights.

Room Tip: I was in room 102B and maybe some of the other basic rooms are larger. Ask when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community from your stay with us this past weekend. Glacier Mountaineer Lodge offers some exceptional amenities and the hot tub and steam room are a great compliment after an epic day on the slopes. The hotel style suites are perfect for a couple of nights, however, if you are looking for more living space, an upgrade to a one bedroom or two bedroom unit is recommended. Thanks again for the review and we hope we can host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubendorf, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was one of our best decisions to stay in Kicking Horse Resort rather than in Golden itself. The Glacier Mountaineer Lodge was really perfect. The room was very nice, well equipped and clean. Staff was friendly. From the balcony we had a nice view up the mountains.

It's an ideal place to take the first chair lift in the morning to the Grizzly refuge, which we would definitely recomment.

There are a couple of Restaurants in this area, we had dinner at The Peaks and it was good.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for the kind review from your stay with us this past summer. There are many lodging options in the town of Golden and I am glad you chose Glacier Mountaineer Lodge as your destination. There are plenty of actives at Kicking Horse and I see you had the opportunity to visit Boo, Kicking Horse’s resident Grizzly Bear. Many thanks for the review and perhaps one day we can host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

What are great place to visit during the quiet season. My daughter and I had a nice weekend away and enjoyed our time at the lodge. The room was very clean and extremely cozy, especially with the fire place. The rates were excellent and I would defiantly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor Community from your weekend getaway at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am pleased to hear that you and your daughter have a wonderful stay with us. The shoulder season is a great time to visit the Resort, especially if you’re looking to just come and relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of your surroundings. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family's experience at the Glacier Mountaineer Lodge was absolutely terrible. There is no air conditioning (or ceiling fans or even opening windows in each room) in any of the guest rooms. Upon arrival, our room was stifling hot. No attempt whatsoever had been made to cool the room. When we called the front desk, we were told unapologetically "you should try turning on a fan or opening the window" (difficult to do when most windows don't open). We got virtually no sleep all night, between the heat, the absurdly loud noise and blowing of the fan (and having to move the fan from room to room), and the idiots yelling and skateboarding outside our room all night into the next morning. The absolute disinterest in our discomfort and displeasure by Bellstar staff was insulting. Bellstar blamed everyone but themselves and rejected responsibility, offering a complimentary stay – I would rather sleep in my car than return to the Glacier Mountaineer Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your concerns from your visit with us this past August. I understand how the room temperatures can affect ones stay and I am very sorry that you didn’t have a restful sleep with respect to the warmth as well with the noise you mentioned during the evening hours. I really hope you and your family will take advantage of the complimentary stay our Team extended to you for the troubles you encountered with your reservation. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to host you again at one of our Bellstar Family of Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glacier Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 1549 Kicking Horse Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Mountaineer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the base of the ski runs and just steps from the gondola are the Glacier and Mountaineer lodges. These beautiful executive style condos and rooms are fully furnished and were designed with creature comfort in mind. All condos have fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and spectacular views. For your relaxation and enjoyment both lodges are equipped with a fitness room complete with a sauna, steam bath and an outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Glacier Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Mountaineer Hotel Golden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.