We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real BBQ Finally” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse

Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse
1105 Hwy 1 Frontage Rd., Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
250-344-5222
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 50 Restaurants in Golden
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“Real BBQ Finally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Don't understand the bad reviews. Real BBQ is deep smoke and subtle flavors. It is not Kraft BBQ sauce smothered on everything. Yes they will run out that is how REAL BBQ joints work.
If you feel this place is not good perhaps you should go to McDonalds I here the McRib is coming back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    51
    22
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“FIND A BETTER SPOT TO EAT!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Was travelling through Golden & decided to stop at the fire pit as it looked new & appealing to the eye, we arrived there at about 11:45pm just in time for lunch! there was a breakfast buffet available for 11$ a person but we decided to skip the buffet as another customer had just complained the eggs benny were hard and the other items needed to be filled up (which the waitress did offer) so we went on to order from the menu which didnt have many options, i ordered the Beef brisket on a bun for $13.00 + An Extra $2.00 for fries & $3.00 for corn bread.... it sounded delicious in the description however the Beef was fatty and WAYYYY over done almost like a jerky, it was dry, not much flavor at all- the only thing that made it taste abit better was the onions, the fries were great and i ordered corn bread which was O.K, my partner orderd a Cesar Salad for $9.50 and was the size of a side cesar salad at wendys, hardly any dressing and ALOT of butt ends of lettuce, he didnt eat it and when the waitress came to clean our table off she asked if we enjoyed our meal and he said he didnt like the salad much and she said "not a problem we will take it off your bill", HOWEVER she didnt she gave us a 4.00 discount which isnt even HALF of what that disgusting salad costs we paid and left and will NEVER come back again... should have went to the diner down the street

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cache Creek, British Columbia
1 review
“You're GOING to come back :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Best brisket ever! Had it on nachos, with the Firepit Salad, which is the perfect balance of sweet and tart. Next time, going with the salad and nothing but brisket, and lots of it! Kudos to Chef Chris, and the very charming Rosa! Don't miss a chance to enjoy the sweetest smoked brisket you'll ever find...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
“Home made which means a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Food is all home made so the taste is all the way there, will stop in every time we head to BC and again on our return to Calgary! The service is also great!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Microwave Chefs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Dropped by for my second visit with a few friends on a Friday night.

Service was slow but friendly.

Food was terrible, the baby back rips were tough and dry, the cornbread could have doubled for a hockey buck.

The owner/chef should be embarrassed by the complete lack of quality for the money. When you charge $25+ for an entree there are certain standards to maintain. I have eaten better at cafeterias.

Save your money and go to McDonalds if you like poor quality food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.