We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good be great but just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse

Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse
1105 Hwy 1 Frontage Rd., Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
250-344-5222
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 50 Restaurants in Golden
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good be great but just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I love BBQ, so when I saw the sign of the Fire Pit in Golden, I was enthusiastic. BBQ is just not something you expect in the Canadian Rockies. My expectations rose when I read the menu telling me that the ribs were smoked for hours and for that reason, they may run out during the evening--a sign of legit BBQ.

Well, they were out of everything by about 8:00. The only BBQ remaining was the pulled pork. It was pretty good but cold. A sign says 'warm' is their temperature, so obviously they have had comments, but there is a difference between warm and cold and if you want to understand the difference, come here.

Part of the problem was staffing. The people working there are great, friendly and efficient, but they were doing everything from table service to busing to bar tending, etc.

The atmosphere is early American cafeteria without any connection to BBQ culture.

At the end of the day, profoundly ordinary. Looking for some good BBQ? This ain't it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    51
    22
    18
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We had heard from friends about this place and tucked it into our memory banks. On a recent trip through Golden we ate dinner here . The service was attentive but not overly so and the need brisket BBQ was hands down the best I have ever eaten. The vegetables were crisp and flavorful. My husband has the pulled pork and it too was cooked to perfection. We will be back this winter when we come to ski Kicking Horse!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dn't let the smoke get in your pop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The food was very good and left us commenting on the taste. The bad part was the fountain pop tasted like smoke and that seemed like a regular thing according to our server.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had supper here, the server was a very nice lady and let us know the cook was short staffed and working alone but the service was actually pretty quick, the food was just ok, he got my order wrong but its forgivable as they were fairly busy and short staffed. The only real turn off was that it is attached to a hotel that looks kind of sketchy and the bathrooms were in a area shared by a really old looking hot tub, kind of odd

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We make it a stop every time comin thru Golden, seen the restaurant grow in last years.
The best chicken wings, authentic brisket and pulled pork, great local beers on draft, agree with previous review , but hey nobody's perfect, overall a recommend stop in Golden bc
Oh and now the have their own Beef Jerky too :) great stuff!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.