We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Smoked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse

Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse
1105 Hwy 1 Frontage Rd., Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
250-344-5222
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 50 Restaurants in Golden
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Swift Current, Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Definitely Smoked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

Service was very slow. Menu not a lit to choose from. You must really live smoked foods to eat here as every item has a strong smokey flavor. We had chicken wings-did not like, quesadilla-okay, jalepeno poppers-couldn't chew the bacon, pit fries- fries not homemade and no toppings.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    51
    22
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“We're still waiting.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

The only good thing I can say about the Firepit Smokehouse is that they have free wifi so you can write a review during the endless wait for your food. Which I am.

Initially ignored upon arrival, we were pushy enough to be given a table and our orders taken. 2/3 of the food dishes and 3/5 of the beers were not available. We ordered from the limited range left.

After 30 minutes of waiting, we went to the bar to get our drinks ourselves.

A good hour later, there is still no entree to be seen and we're filling time writing internet reviews.

No one in our party of four has ever been to a restaurant with a superior combination of terrible and tardy service. The restaurant is not even busy.

We continue to wait...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMONTON
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Went to the Fire Pit our first night in Golden. If you love smoked meat you will probably be happy. I had the smoked pulled pork and enjoyed it. My co workers had other items and gave mixed reviews. The Smoked Meatloaf was so smoky one person could not eat it and the other had a burger and reported it was ok. I had the Yam fries with mine and the Chipotle jalapino mayo. Very nice. I don't mind paying a bit extra for yam fries, but at least serve as much as regular fries.

The local micro brewed beers are pretty good too.

overall it was interesting, My food was good, co workers not so happy. i would come back again, but I doubt the people I was with would.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just OK... nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Passing through Golden and stopped here for lunch. I was greeted promptly and recieved a menu quickly. The selection was not bad and I settled on the Brisket sandwich with fries and a side of aioli. You got 3 thick slices of beef on the bun, which I found to be a little tough. For a meat that is supposed to be smoked for 12-14 hours it should've been fork tender and it wasn't. The flavor was good and had a very nice smokiness to the meat. Fries were standard and didn't recieve the aioli like I asked. Value for the money was ok.....hate the PST being from Alberta.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Food Good Service Very Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Resturant very inviting other than crappy service from the Manager/Owner. Letting the public know that when you order food and they run out of side dishes with the meals the owner doesn't offer anything in it's place. We arrived from our long trip to find they couldn't be bothered to help us and to answer any of our questions reguarding how big the meals are. They blamed it on a new hostess who just started. Owner gave the impression that we were invading her space and left us with just a small chicken burger with tomatoe and lettuce on a bun with no side dish out of coleslaw and didn't offer any alternatives. We will never go there again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Pit Bbq Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.