We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Rafting Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Rafting

Alpine Rafting
101 Golden Donald Upper Road | Next to British Columbia Info Centre, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
+1 888-599-5299
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$84*
and up
Ranked #2 of 43 Activities in Golden
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alpine Rafting offers Half and Full Day Trips on the Kicking Horse River starting at $29 per person. All experience levels welcome, no experience necessary. We are the only company to offer a Whitewater Guarantee: we are not satisfied until you are.
Golden, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Rafting Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I went whitewater rafting for the first time with Alpine Rafting on the Kicking Horse River and it was an amazing experience. We did the full day trip, the lunch was really good and all the staff there are extremely friendly and helpful. The guides do a great job in putting you at ease about the big rapids and entertaining you on the trip. I would definitely recommend Alpine to any first time rafters!

Visited June 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    30
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rafting on the Kicking Horse - July 17, 2010!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We recently went white water rafting on the kicking horse river for the first time and it was awesome!!! It was the first time any of us went and we all loved it and will go back again for sure! Our guide was Hayley and she was awesome! She made us all feel really safe and keep it fun!! Would defintly recommed it to anyone who wants an adventure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineRafting, Owner at Alpine Rafting, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Hi Sheryl,
Thanks for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you out on the River in future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great first rafting experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I was really nervous about rafting but the guides and staff at Alpine put me at my ease. I would definitely recommend the Ultimate Whitewater because the second part of the trip is definitely the best part! Two things to think about - its very cold (!) and there is not really anywhere to go to the toilet once you leave the building! And don't get too excited about the lunchtime snack!!! An amazing experience though and you never feel like you are in any danger and the staff are fabulous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
“Wild Ride on the Kicking Horse with Alpine Rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Our trip with Alpine Rafting was so much fun last summer that we're going to book again for 2010. The scenery was beautiful and the rapids were awesome. We did the Kicking Horse River Challenge and enjoyed a full day with a great lunch and friendly staff. Our guide was hilarious and made sure everyone had a safe ride. If you want to go white water rafting do it on the Kicking Horse with Alpine Rafting. I promise you won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great rafting experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We did the "Kicking Horse River Challenge" trip in mid-June. It involved the upper, middle & lower canyons and took most of the day (arrived at 8.30am, and returned about 4.30pm). We had a really great time - the trip was well-organised, the guides were very knowledgeable about the river & surrounding area and the food was great!

We started off at their headquarters, just before Golden. We piled onto a bus and drove about 20mins to the launching area to get into our wetsuits. Their gear was in great condition, which we liked.

The upper canyon was pretty tame and if you didn't have time to do this or were wanted to save money, I think you could skip it. We had some other groups join us after our lunch break, who had just booked the middle & lower canyons. However, we quite enjoyed the opportunity to look at the scenery and chat with the others in our raft - later in the day, there wasn't as much of an opportunity for this because we were in the rapids. Our guide also taught us the commands at this time, so we had more time to learn them.

For lunch, we pulled into a little spot and they have a permanent picnic area set up with a few big picnic tables and a bbq under a wooden roof. We had a choice of chicken or beef burgers for lunch, as well as salads, cookies, hot drinks etc. It was yummy and there was plenty of food.

After lunch we did the middle canyon, which was a little rougher. We then had to pull up out of the river and get into the bus to travel a few minutes downstream in order to skip a rough patch of the river, because it's not safe to go through that part. They had watermelon, cookies and drinks waiting for us when we arrived.

We put the rafts back into the water and headed off into the lower canyon. This was the roughest part of the trip with some great rapids. This was my favourite part! After we were through the rapids and a few k's away from the end, we had the option to jump out of the raft for a swim in the river. We all did this and it was lots of fun!

Overall, it was a great day. We really enjoyed it and would recommend choosing this company. Their guides were great - we felt totally safe with them and they also had a good sense of humour, telling us stories as we travelled down the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Rafting also viewed

 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Quadra Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Alpine Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.