We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is delicious, just like being back in India” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakoon Indian Cuisine

Sakoon Indian Cuisine
272 Wallace St, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L0, Canada
6048690030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 35 Restaurants in Hope
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Hope, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“The food is delicious, just like being back in India”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Living near Hope we have been to this restaurant on a few occasions and found the food to be delicious each time. A while ago we had a friend from India visiting us and when tasting the food she was very impressed and said it was as good as any food that you get in India.

On Mother's Day we dined here again with friends. The Butter Chicken and Mango Chicken were excellent served with garlic naan done to perfection. We also had the chicken and vegetable pakora which we would recommend highly for an appetizer.

When we ordered Kingfisher Beer we were happily surprised that they actually had it in stock since that is our favorite beer while travelling through India.

For anyone who likes Indian food this is one of the best places that we know of. For tourists travelling through town, this restaurant if worth a try and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“That Indian Beer was fabulous! and Food as usually Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

When last time i went to restaurant, they had couple of beer varieties and wine.
Last weekend they made our day when we all guys tasted the indian beer. I missed it so much since years.
They got great variety now and Samosas were fantastic as they are always.
Everytime i had a weekend off, i love to visit this place while enjoying a long drive.

Can't wait to visit it again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Taste Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

we enjoyed the best lunch at Sakoon Indian cuisine on our way to Vancouver. Had a good feeling all day and been the best place when ever we pass through hope.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
1 review
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stumbled across this restaurant on way back to Vancouver. Great vegetarian selection. Owner very engaged and pleasant. Food was very fresh and tasty. Wonderful naan bread and palak paneer. I liked the music too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The meal started off good with the pappadam, followed by homemade samosas which where very good. The butter chicken, palak paneer, and chickpea dish were bland. The naan bread and service was good. Would maybe return to try different dishes.....
Enjoyed the music :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakoon Indian Cuisine also viewed

Hope, British Columbia
 
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to Sakoon Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakoon Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.