We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope Drive Inn & Restaurant

Hope Drive Inn & Restaurant
590 Old Hope Princeton Rd, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L0, Canada
(604) 869-5380
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Hope
Restaurant details
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very good place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We really enjoyed this restaurant. We have picky eaters and everyone was happy when they left - feeling full and satisfied with their meal. The staff were also very friendly. It appears to be a busy place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    37
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Coast England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just the sort of place we were seeking, great diner style place serving nice home style food. We left very saisfied.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved the Ketchup Garden and Highway to Hell Merchandise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

So tired of the chains - wanted to experience one of those retro roadside burger joints. I'm a sucker for kitch and novelty; what attracted us to the Hope Restaurant was its ketchup garden planter outside the front door. They had planted some bottles amongst the flowers and plants. Very creative! They also had some Highway to Hell merlchandeise in the front window, and some scarecrow type characters from the show. Highway to Hell is the reality TV show that is shot in and around Hope.

My friend and I ordered the deluxe burger. Their burgers come with potato salad, fries, salad, or soup of the day. I ordered the "Peasant Borscht." My friend ordered the "Split Pea." The soup came in a good-sized bowl. My friend liked the split pea, but my borscht was bland and watery.

Onto the burgers. They were good, but not great. The charbroiled pattie had a nice taste and was not greasy. It was accompanied by mayo, burger sauce, onion, tomato, lettuce, and a dill pickle on a kaiser bun.

My freind had a Coke and I had coffee. The coffee was good. Not bitter or strong. Classic coffee-shop style - the way it used to be, and I like that way best.

The only other retro feature was an old Coke machine inside the restaurant. The rest is so 1980s. Teal wallpaper, oak and brass, and those bevelled glass partitions. I would love to see this place remocelled into true 1950s/1960s retro! The ketchup garden was a good start - too bad they didn't carry the novelty and kitch inside.

The home-baking looked good, but was too full to order anything. Their cinnamon buns are huge - would be worth stopping for a bun and that good coffee someday.

The bill came to almost $30 for two. A bit pricey, but we did avoid another chain, so no great regrets.

If they took my advice - got rid of the 1980s look and injected some of that retro kitch, I think this place would be a real hit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A trusted old favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stopped at this restaurant many times over the years on our way up to the interior. Run superbly by the Younie family, it has always been an excellent place for breakfast, lunch or dinner depending on the time of day. You can always count on the down-home atmosphere, friendly and efficient wait-staff and good food. We've tried other restaurants in Hope but always come back to the Hope Drive In. Check it out...you won't be disappointed! (The green salad is absolutely excellent!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Get Off The Freeway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stopped here on many occasions as we travel to and from the Vancouver area, and have never been disappointed. We have left the Lower Mainland early in the day to avoid the traffic rush, and stopped here for breakfast. And when westbound we have stopped here for dinner. The food and service is always great for a family style restaurant. No franchise style meals here, just great homestyle meals.
P.S. Be sure to have a glass of water with your meal. Hope B.C. has superb water.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hope Drive Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 
Hope, British Columbia
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to Hope Drive Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope Drive Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.