We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Home Restaurant

Home Restaurant
665 Old Hope Princeton Way, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L0, Canada
(604) 869-5558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Hope
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

Food was good, well priced, a good bet when in hope

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    62
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardiner, MT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Great dinner. Very tasty and fresh. Service was good. The pie was not great though. I would eat here again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Definately a Hope favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is far and away our favourite restaurant in Hope. it never disappoints. Portions are hearty, although they do have smaller "senior" sized portions too. Every thing tastes home cooked. The staff are friendly and the service is pretty quick considering how busy they usually are. I enjoyed their turkey dinner which was slices of white meat, mashed potato, fresh veggies, gravy, stuffing and cranberry sauce while my partner went for the mac and cheese. Both good! The pies look amazing but we have never been hungry enough to order one after our meal. I did see people sharing a slice of pie with a cup of coffee so maybe thats the way to enjoy them and skip the meal altogether!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Prepare to wait a bit but its definately worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Had to wait about 10-15 minutes to be seated but once we did the food was great and the protion sizes were large. Awesome location to stop if you heading to vancouver or something not to far off the highway and you stay on the same road to get back on to the highway

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Reliable, busy, and filling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Home has been a mainstay of Hope for many years. We frequently stop here and eat if we have the time. It is always busy.
Service is fine, but food delivery is a bit slow. The pies when you come in make your mouth water, but if you have a meal it is unlikely you will have room for pie as portions are big (for us, anyway).
We noticed that the burger buns were particularly poor - stale and flimsy like we would have got at a fast food joint down the road. Otherwise the food was good.
It is comfort food, reliably prepared, and moderately priced. It is not a fast or cheap stop, however, but there are not many decent options in Hope either.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Restaurant also viewed

Hope, British Columbia
 
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to Home Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.