We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place open” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen
817 Water St, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L0, Canada
604.869.5763
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 35 Restaurants in Hope
Cuisines: Dessert, Fast Food, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Only place open”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We could not find anything open. We were not dissappointed the people were friendly. The food was good for fast food. We would go back

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Best Pecan Ice Cream Ever!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I called here for a quick bite to eat on a road trip from Vancouver to Jasper.

Hope is really just somewhere you drive through so no high expectations, it is a dairy queen after all!

Food was typical burger joint selection, ok but nothing special.

We were just about to leave when we saw a pecan waffle ice cream on the menu so we thought why not.

Waffle was cooked fresh, there was a ton of pecans and the ice cream was great.

They get four stars just for that! set us up nicely for a long drive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“better than before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

About a year ago, me and my girlfriend went to dq. At that time the food was good but the service was slow. I had to wait for 10mins just for 2 burger combos. Apx 15 days ago when I went there again I observed lots of changes as maybe there might be new staff or management because this time the servife was pretty good (4 mins)I got all my stuff and that was hot and fresh .and the bathroom was clean .and also the full staff was dressed up properly. I enjoyed that that day in hope dq .because it was much better than my last visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I stopped at the Hope Dairy Queen for lunch on our way towards the coast. The restaurant itself was filthy and we walked around the whole place to find the least dirty table to sit at. Yes it was busy but there were several young kids behind the counter who just weren't doing much but interacting with each other. The manager, an older man, had to tell one of the kids to wipe up the condiment station, which was a mess. The kid re-stacked the paper ketchup cups, which were overturned in the mess and the straws that are individually wrapped he threw into the trash... huh? The floor throughout was also dirty and sticky, the windows were such a mess it hampered the view and I had the misfortune of having to use the Ladies room. The floor and counter were wet and sticky, and there was actually fresh blood on the floor. There were only 2 stalls and one of them had no toilet paper. We were so totally grossed out that I worried about food poisoning. Oh yeah, and the food did not even save the day as it was so tasteless we could have gotten as much enjoyment from eating cardboard. Plus, although we each got the same 'combo meal' the fries came in two different sized containers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, B.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I thought I'd surprise the girlfriend at her work today, with a banana split from the DQ for her lunch. I live in Hope so I knew already that this DQ has the slowest drive through window in the industry, but I was willing to use it.
Long after the ordering when the worker finally began making the banana split, I could see some of the prep area through the window and I was quite unimpressed to see him jabbing and manipulating the banana pieces with his bare fingers as he applied the ice cream. He took the thing to the further recesses of the facility to complete it and when he returned and produced the open confection at the window it was filled above the tray's rim with the various substances, and a gob of whipped cream promptly flopped off the far side of it and onto my lap. I asked the guy for a tray of some kind to put this thing on, as I obviously could not drive away while simultaneously trying to control this ridiculous pile of slop. He took his creation away again for several minutes, and returned with the same tray of gumption but now it sported a snap-on fitted lid (why wasn't this on it in the first place?)
But the entire banana split was now mashed under this lid and it looked as through it had spent time in a paint shaker.
Fresh out of time to get the G/F any lunch by this time, I took the thing and drove away, after telling the slack faced idiot what I thought of his unsanitary food preparing behavior.
But I won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dairy Queen also viewed

Hope, British Columbia
 
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to Dairy Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dairy Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.