We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimchi Korean & Japanese Restaurant

Kimchi Korean & Japanese Restaurant
821A - 6th Ave, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L2, Canada
(604) 869-0070
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Hope
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
Restaurant details
Hope, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good sushi , staff was friend and efficient. We also have our ladies christian meeting once a month for brunch, We are served, scrambles eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, {sort of like a continental
style breakfast} Good food and great service,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been to a fair amount of sushi places and this little gem is right in majestic Hope BC! I love love love the freshness and quality and it's consistently delicious-highly recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good food when it finally arrived! Staff needs to be better trained.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had heard great things about this place and it was recommended by our motel owner. We ordered and waited 25 mintues for our food and wondered why other tables were getting their food. Finally our waitress realized that we had not got our soup or salad. They arrived at the same time as our main course. We returned the soup although she kept trying to leave it on our table. She never came back to refill our water glasses, to ask us how our food was, or ask us if we wanted anything else. The good food was overshadowed by the very POOR service This restaurant needs to train their staff better-- a simple "sorry for the confusion" would have gone a long way to making the dinner enjoyable. As it was, we were glad to leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I was not expecting the quality of food and service in this sleepy little town. The sushi was OUTSTANDING the Bento was GREAT their Tempura was FANTASTIC and the service was EXCELLENT.

My only disappointment was the Sake list. They serve a low quality hot Sake and I think as well as they execute the rest of their program it was a let down. If they were to carry some premium chilled Sake this place would be heaven.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best sushi anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've been to a lot of sushi restaurants and always compare the food to the standard set by Kimchi. It's just delicious, fresh, and made with care.
Service is good, I fell that i get value for money, and overall nice to stay in or take out.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimchi Korean & Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Hope, British Columbia
 
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to Kimchi Korean & Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimchi Korean & Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.