We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic motel with everything you really need” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Slumber Lodge Motel

Slumber Lodge Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Slumber Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Slumber Lodge Motel
250 Fort Street | Box 909, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“basic motel with everything you really need”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We're not in Hope for a resort experience. We stop off in Hope when we're going to and from the Island, if night catches up with us or weather/road conditions are bad. With all that in mind, the Slumber Lodge is perfectly suited to our needs.

The location of the motel is central to everything Hope has to offer, and there is lots of parking. Check in was quick and pleasant, and the person on the desk offered a dinner recommendation that was spot on (see review of Joe's). We really liked the layout of our room -- two queens in one room, and another in a separate room. It worked perfectly for our party of three adults, and was very reasonably priced. We could have done without the religious text on the wall. We were on the upper level and heard no noise from other units, although sensitive sleepers may not like hearing the trains. And, at some point in the early morning, the heating system (I think) kicked in with a series of hammering noises.

Design and decor are, in general, dated, but our room was clean and well-maintained, and so I'm not about to quibble over colour schemes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
14
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very clean, quiet and very reasonable price. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Centrally located. Easy access to cafe's, shops, gas stations. Decor outdated but who cares? I'm there for a peaceful night sleep, good price, and secure parking for my vehicle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enderby, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to take off one afternoon from the Okanagan to head to Vancouver Island, however due to the pounding rain & harsh fog, we made it to Hope and opted to stay.

The owner was very helpful & quickly had us checked in. The room was clean, had been updated however the noise that carried through from other rooms (showers only, not voices) was horrible. I found the bed unbelievably hard, my husband said it was "okay" but he can sleep anywhere. I'd stay here again if in a pinch, but would try something else in Hope or push on.

Room Tip: We found you could hear the pipes from showers being turned a couple of rooms away; quite loud actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I love hotels that are pet friendly...

Moving across canada its not like i can leave my pet at home since i'm changing locations soooo when we arrived at 3am and we just needed sleep this place was awesome!

When we checked in; because it was so late, we got a great rate.. its in a great location off the hwy and its close to a gas station and a restaurant.

Check out is 11

I can't really say anything wrong with this hotel.

It was clean and comfy, warm and had a fridge to hold my cat food. If i had to drive that way again... i know i can stay here and be comfortable :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

the hotel staff were very accomodting and helpful wiht our needs. they even asked for our schedule so that they could clean our rooms around our game times.. they even washed my sons socks that he left by the pool
very accomodating for team functions

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I just recently learned of this site, and find it interesting to read what people have to say about the Hotels in our little community. I read the one from from MamasWine and was totally blown away by her comments. I come from a large family and they all live in the lower mainland, where I grew up. Whenever any of them come to Hope to visit us, they stay at the Slumber Lodge. I also have friends who visit a few times a year, and they stay there as well . Not once have I ever heard any of them say anything bad about the hotel. The rooms are always clean, and the owners and staff are always freindly and helpful. The fact that the entire parlking lot and surrounding lots are monitored 24hrs a day by security cameras is just an added bonus. I have also stayed at the Slumber Lodge on a few occasions, and I agree with my family and friends, it is a great place to stay if you want quiet, clean, and friendly.

Room Tip: We were shown a few different styles when my sister first came up, and they all looked very clean. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms were clean (yes we checked for bed bugs) the price was high for what you get but we were in town for a hockey tournament and it was close to everything. I do not recommend you stay on the ground floor beside the pool unless you like dirt, cracks in the walls and all the noise from the pool as one of our families found out the hard way. The owner wouldn't move them and said "if you don't like it leave". Nice. They should warn you to bring your own pool towels too.

Room Tip: at the end of upper floor, if over the office you hear a door bell everytime their phone rings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slumberlodgehopebc, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It is understandably embarrassing to hear unhappy complaints as we strive to do our best to provide clean and respectable service as well as be as accommodating as possible. To better understand this complaint I feel that some points need clarification.

The noise complaint was received at 8:50pm asking for half the room fee be refunded due to noisy children in the pool. 10 minutes after asking the kids to quiet down, they left and we shut the pool down for the evening. There was a request to then change rooms however as there was a pet with them, we had explained that we had no other rooms available to them. This was also explained at the time of booking. It was suggested that if they were unhappy we would refund the full room cost should they chose to stay elsewhere, not "If they didn't like it they could leave" as implied. The customers chose to stay.

Upon requesting additional tea/coffee service the following morning, after knocking on the door I was told quite abruptly to leave. Later that morning the customer did apologize for their abrupt manner and after checking that everything was OK I was told that yes it was and there were no further issues.

There was also an issue with a doorbell making noise. In my 16 years of management in this hotel this is the first time I have ever heard of this complaint and after checking the noise level it was found to be barely audible, but measures were taken to ensure no further complaints happen going forward. We would also liked to have more detail involving the dirty and cracked wall as I could not find the source of this complaint anywhere.

We appreciate all of our customers, and all of their kind words as well. Hopefully one bad experience and misunderstanding will not deter future clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slumber Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slumber Lodge Motel

Address: 250 Fort Street | Box 909, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Hope
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Slumber Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slumber Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.