We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, great food, comfortable lodge, fantastic hiking.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talus Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talus Lodge
Save
You added Talus Lodge to your Saves list
Box 731, Invermere, British Columbia V0A 1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Milton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, great food, comfortable lodge, fantastic hiking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I traveled to Talus Lodge as part of a group of 10 friends, one of whom had been to Talus Lodge twice before. We chose the self-guided option and spent many hours exploring the beautiful and secluded mountains, meadows, and glaciers surrounding the lodge. After long days of hiking I really appreciated the wood stove heated sauna. Despite being secluded and having to be flown in by helicopter (a great experience in itself), the lodge has electrical lighting and outlets (for recharging your camera batteries) that are powered with a propane generator. Toilets are pit toilets but clean and comfortable. I highly recommend Talus Lodge for a unique Canadian Rockies experience!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful vacation at Talus Lodge in late July 2010. Unbelievable scenery, wonderful company and excellent food. We were the only guests from the United States and the other guests were all from Canada and they knew each other. However, this didn't matter. Everyone was cordial and we took turns sharing the kitchen duties in order to enhance the collegial spirit. After a long day's hiking and climbing, we enjoyed conversation, games, music or just reading. Chris carefully charted out a different hiking trip for us each day and we learned so much from his geology background. He was also great to point out the numerous wild flowers which were just beginning to bloom. The entire stay was carefully planned to be eco-friendly.

There are so many magical places to visit on our planet, but this certainly is a place we could seriously consider with a return visit.

Go to www.taluslodge.com to learn more about this wonderful lodge.

William and Jan Gorman
Solon, Iowa

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

From the moment the helicopter set us down at Talus Lodge, we were made to feel welcome and comfortable. The Lodge is in a remote location with 360 degree views of mountains and alpine lakes. We came for Hiking and it was better than we ever expected. With no trails other than those of the animals, owner and guide Chris Espinal took us on different hikes with varied terrains and outstanding views every day. Wildflowers were everywhere. One day while sitting and trying to spot mountain goats, a grizzly appeared upwind of us allowing a rare opportunity to observe it for several minutes while it meandered (away from us!) along the mountainside. Each afternoon when we returned to the Lodge, appetizer snacks awaited us. After a chilly day hike, the wood-burning stove sauna felt real good. Meals were creative home-cooked delicious.
Over the years we have been to many wilderness lodges. If you are looking for a remote and isolated mountain lodge for summer hiking and relaxation, in a unique location, with good food and a friendly host and staff,Talus Lodge is the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

We're a group of guys who annually hike at a different lodge in the Canadian Rockies. Talus was our choice for our 10th year and we couldn't have made a better pick. As expected the vistas from the lodge are breathtaking. The food was authentic Rocky Mountain fare, yet they managed to serve up a twist for us each night. The hospitality of our host Chris Espinel was genuine and sincere. Moreover the heli flight is from Canmore, so Talus is easy access if you're from Calgary / Edmonton. The pricing is very competitive with other lodges and the variety of hiking options appeals to all skill levels.
I realize the above may be table stakes for back country lodges; what really makes Talus stand out from the pack is the attitude of the Owners/Staff. They are a genuine and warm bunch with a real love of their lodge and the environment . Their enthusiasm is most welcome but not overpowering. They really work hard for their guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We got to Talus Lodge just after a mighty avalanche swept the nearby slopes of Talus (Talon) Mountain. It snowed for the first time in a month the night before we got on the heli. As a result, the icy slopes were overloaded with a foot of fresh pow. Talus Lodge was situated on a rise in the middle of a gigantic glacial cirque and was definitely the jewel in the crown. The accomodations were lodge-comfy and Chris Espinel, our host, was gracious and super-attentive, it was like hanging out with a good friend instead of a professional backcountry hotelier. The skiing was fabulous, the new snow like fresh cream poured over mountains and Chris was careful not to get us into max-dangerous avalanche terrain. The food could not have been better, a local restaurant owner and Canadian National Team cross-x ski coach, Dieter, cooked for us and showed us how the hard guys ski. To top it all off, our fellow travelers were an investment banker from Toronto and his pediatrician girl-friend (fiance-to-be?) who couldn't have been more cordial or better informed about Canadian and American politics. A perfect trip. A perfect slice of heaven in the Canadian Rockies!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

We visited Talus Lodge in late July and had a truly unique experience. The lodge is somewhat new, having been built in 2003, and they're finishing work on a small "honeymoon" cottage about 50 yards from the main building.

There's only one way to get to Talus, and that's meeting the helicopter in the town of Canmore, just south of Banff. From there it's an absolutely stunning, 20-minute ride back into the wilderness, finally reaching Talus, and total isolation. Built on a small plateau at around 7500 feet, the lodge is adjacent to three postcard blue glacier-fed mountain lakes, and surrounded by steep faces and rocky peaks. We could hardly believe where we were. Views for miles, and the only sounds you hear are the three small waterfalls draining the snow into the lake, and the nearby streams cascading down the hillsides.

Now, this isn't the Ritz; it's a backcountry lodge. Yet if you're a hiker you've never had it so good. The rooms are clean, and the place has the feel of slopeside ski house. (And if you're there in the wintertime, that's exactly what it is.) The bathroom wing is rustic, but serviceable. However, you won't mind once you realize the reason it's rustic is that all the waste must be helicoptered out. The lodge is designed to have very little impact on the surrounding area, and it doesn't. There is running water, which is drawn from the nearby spring and piped in. However, the showers are simply a oversized flower-watering can that you heat, then fill, then hoist up over your head -- and there's your shower. Actually, we were surprised how well it worked.

The food was plentiful and very, very good. Full breakfasts, lunch meats and fix-ins were laid out in order to pack a lunch before you head out for a day hike, and the dinners -- grilled steaks, lamb, salmon, risotto -- were just what the doctor ordered after a long day of hiking. i always expect to lose weight when I'm hiking for four days straight, but I'm not sure I lost a pound at Talus because the food was so good.

I must say, however, that what really made Talus special was getting to know Chris, who is one of the partners who built the lodge (Dan is the other, who we met in Canmore). A 30-year veteran of the forest service and mountain rescue, the lodge is obviously a labor of love for Chris. He also served as our hiking guide, and tailored each hike the group's pace and experience level. If you just want to relax by the lakes, that's fine too.

One word of advice -- there is a guided and a non-guided option. (Though Chris informed me that this may change.) I strongly recommend the guided package. Not only is this grizzly country, but there are no trails in this area. It's best to go with someone who knows the area intimately, even if you're an experienced hiker. It also helps the lodge maintain a limited footprint, which was obviously an important concern for Chris. He wants the area to remain pristine for his guests.

On our last day, when Chris took me for a private hike up some terrain that was a bit more challenging than the rest of the week's hikes, he blurted out, "I live in paradise, man!" And he does. And the joy he obviously gets from sharing these mountains with you is palpable.

Hopefully you get to enjoy it as well.

  • Liked — The scenery, food, and company
  • Disliked — I'm having trouble thinking of one.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talus Lodge

Address: Box 731, Invermere, British Columbia V0A 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Invermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Invermere
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.