We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Pub - CLOSED

Lakeside Pub
110 Lakeside, Invermere, British Columbia V0A 1K0, Canada
(250) 342-6866
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
KIMBERLEY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The food was great...buffalo burger and pulled pork (without the bun). We are wheat sensitive and they are very aware of what is not! The salad was very fresh and great house dressing, the buffalo burger is made locally and pulled pork was great and home cut fries. We got an umbrella and even though the day was very hot, we were comfortable. Great atmosphere. Very willing to accommodate wheat sensitive (which is rare to find) and the gluten free options are * on the menu. Most places only offer salad as gluten free.

The only complaint we have...as we left we noticed a family with a child leave (they only cater to 19 and above in age). That's a shame.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

After discovering the Lakeside on a golf trip in 2009, I was really looking forward to bringing my friends there during another golf trip this year. Located right on the Lake with a big patio, this restaurant has what is arguably one of the best locations in the Columbia Valley. But man, what a disappointment! The menu has changed considerably in the last 2 years. Prices have gone up and the quality has gone way down! The worst part of the visit was the service from the "manager". She was rude to us straight from the get go as she explained that she was very busy and understaffed and we needed to hurry up and order our drinks. Not everyone in our group of 4 had even sat down yet! The service went from bad to worse. We had to constantly ask to have our water glasses refilled. We needed to go up to find her at the bar to get a second round of drinks. And when this happened she acted like she was doing us a favour in bringing them to us. Last but not least, we had to ask for our bill three times before it came. Another employee came by our table to apologize for the behaviour of the manager and explained that the only reason she had the position was because she was the owner's daughter. Regardless, we will never go back based on our experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service ruined our experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Went to the pub during our weekend stagette- 5 women total. Waitress was nice. However, the manager was rude and snippy right from the start (she was the one to seat us). In addition, she accosted the bride-to-be when she went to the salad bar for seconds since she was holding the plate she had used before; she stepped right in her path, was very condescending when she said it was against health regulation rules and forcibly grabbed the plate from her hands. (I found out she was the manager when I asked the waitress because I wanted to complain about the service).

When we arrived we were asked for ID- one of the girls had Alberta Health and many other ID cards but had forgotten her drivers license. We were told we needed to go back and get it. The entire party was over 30. I understand the need to check for IDs but we watched many other younger looking patrons admitted to the pub without having their IDs checked. Maybe it was because the one girl was asian.

Overall, it could be a nice place and I would go back again. However, I would turn around and leave if the same manager was there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canmore,ab
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Hit and miss service and food - hot as hell on the deck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Can't add much more than what i said in the title. Avoid the deck if you don't need any more risk of skin cancer. It is hot if you are unable to get under an umbrella. My tip to the people who run or own this place, which is situated right on the water. Try to hire staff that care consistently- we've had excellent service here and the absoluely dumbest and uncaring. Also spring for some more umbrellas. This could easily be the best place in the Valley for view and food if someone cared about details a little more. Clue: We consummers really are very patient with staff if they show any inclination to do their best when under pressure, Its when they don't plain give a dam that makes us search out other places to leave our money in subsequent visits. I would still recommend dropping by. On the right day with the right staff out front, and the luck of an umbrella, its about a nice as it gets around a bar on the beach.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sure bet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

One of our Favs in the valley.Always a good choice, Nice little salad bar comes with several entrées. Great view of the lake & down the valley

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Pub also viewed

Invermere, Kootenay Rockies
Invermere, Kootenay Rockies
 
Invermere, Kootenay Rockies
Invermere, Kootenay Rockies
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.