We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love garlic and great food - you need to eat here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outer Clove Restaurant

Outer Clove Restaurant
536 Stanley Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 1N2, Canada
+1 250-354-1667
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, International, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Outer Clove Restaurant is a full-service, casual dining restaurant in Nelson, British Columbia, Canada that serves lunch and dinner. A long-time Nelson favourite, we offer contemporary and classic dishes from around the world. Garlic infuses the food-from a subtle hint to a more intense flavour explosion-while the service is warm and friendly and the vibe is casual. Everything on the evolving menu is freshly prepared from scratch and there are daily lunch and dinner specials. The dining room seats 38 patrons with a further 10 seats available on the seasonal patio.
Nelson, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If you love garlic and great food - you need to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Outer Clove is a go-to place for a nice range of menu items, friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere...AND almost everything on the menu (including some desserts) are made with the bulb of the gods - garlic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna,BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We found this place by accident, and very glad we did. Every aspect of our meal and drink was brilliant. The waitress was quite rushed off her feet, but although the service was a little slow it was hard to fault her for it and she was very apologetic about it. All of our meals were awesome aswell, my stepmom found her mac and cheese a tad dry but after mentioning it to the waitress she was supplied with some extra sauce and from then on everything was perfect.
Fair warning though, you must like Garlic :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A classic themed restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to this restaurant because of the theme - garlic in everything - and we weren't disappointed. The place must have a lot of staff and cooks or other reviewers are a little addled. From reviews, we expected service problems or long waits or cold food or something else wrong. We got none of it. Staff was very pleasant, attentive and fun-loving. Our food came in a very acceptable time and was hot and delicious, and plentiful. We would return in a heartbeat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Garlic lovers' paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here tonight and had a wonderful garlic fix. It was all good: the quirky decor, the interesting temptations on the menu and even the rather sleepy waitress was pleasant and attentive enough. The fish taco was an explosion of flavours and textures and the calamari was delicious. Too full for dessert but couldn't resist taking away a garlic chocolate chip cookie for tomorrow. Treat yourself to some garlicky goodness and give this great little restaurant a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Garlic Lovers Unite At The Outer Clove!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A very hip little place. If you like garlice, this is a cool place to hang out. There were lots of dishes to choose from and I would have loved to have been able to order a few things, but time did not permit that. Daily special with soup, salad or fries was $10. Couldn't get any better than that. The special we had was chicken souvlaki in a pita with coconut curried chicken soup. The restaurant is off the main street and even in peak tourist season, it was quiet while sitting outdoors on the front deck/patio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outer Clove Restaurant also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Outer Clove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outer Clove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.