We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to sit outide but food ordinary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Diner

Main Street Diner
616 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4J4, Canada
1 (250) 354-4848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 74 Restaurants in Nelson
Restaurant details
Edmonton
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fun to sit outide but food ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had a small dinner Greek salad which was very tasty but not original Greek as it was served with lettuce and creamy Greek dressing but not a lot of feta cheese. My daughter had souvlaki..after asking for no tomatoes the server might have mentioned that it was also served with red onions. She was expecting just souvlaki with the pita bread and dressing.

The sandwiches the others ordered were good size with plenty of french fries.

It took a long time for the food to arrive although it was after the Sat.market so the place was busy. As well we were not informed bills were not brought out to the outside tables which is fine but we waited for that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStreetDinerNelso, General Manager at Main Street Diner, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for giving us a try while you were in Nelson.

Our greek dressing is made in house from scratch. We import a very special soft feta straight directly from Greece ourselves but agree that it's not the 'original'. There is zero cream in the dressing but the cheese can be quite soft so this might be what you experienced.

Sorry you guys missed the red onions on the menu, I know they're not easy to pick out once chopped and wrapped in with tzatziki. Our apologies.

Saturday markets in the summer are a bit crazy sometimes, appreciate your understand for the longer than normal bill times.

Hope you guys had a great time in our beautiful little town. Hope you give us a try again next time you're thru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Well I ate here last summer several times and loved it. I ordered the calamari salad combo and raved about it. This time when we arrived it took forever to even get an acknowledgement that we were even there and this was with a fussy 2 year old. So of course I ordered the calamari combo and when it came like an hour later it was pretty much all the tentacle type calamari. I saw another order a few minutes later and it was a nice variety how it was served last year. I did kit complain because I'm sure it would have taken forever and my son was done with sitting. Couldn't even finish all my meal as it was way to chewy

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStreetDinerNelso, General Manager at Main Street Diner, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for the accolades on your experience with us last summer! We pride ourselves on quick food service so are sorry to hear you had to wait, especially with a little one.

We cut our calamari in house from whole squid and sometimes the tentacles and rings don't get prepared in consistent proportions.

Thanks for the feedback, next time please mention as we'd be happy to make it right.

Hope you had a good time in Nelson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Soggy Fries, Uninspired Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Ordered the "boring burger", and it sure was! Just a slab of meat on a grocery store hamburger bun. OK, so it was boring; but I couldn't find the choice that added just relish , lettuce, maybe tomato, and I didn't want Swiss cheese and bacon. or whatever the other fancy choices were. To top it all off, the fries were soggy and lukewarm - no way to rescue them. My partner had one of the various poutine-type dishes, which again did not live up to the menu descriptions. Sorry to pan this place, but I would try others first.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStreetDinerNelso, General Manager at Main Street Diner, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Our menu reads almost exactly that for the Boring Burger. 'Just the meat and the bun'.

If you do choose to try us again, ask your server for the 'No-Cheese Burger' with no sauces and a side of mustard? (we're sorry but we only have relish for the odd weekend burger special and don't carry the green, store bought kind). I'm sure you'll be pleased with our home made beef patty, some crisp leaf lettuce and a couple slices of tomato.

Our fries are hand cut daily and we pride ourselves on serving the best! If you weren't totally excited about them we'd love to try again.

If you're looking for another great spot in town, try the 100 mile burger at Mike's Place located in the Hume Hotel! When I don't feel like cooking I'll almost always head down the street there, tho we do hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I hit this diner at least once every year I am out in the Nelson area. I am served by the same wonderful man each time! the service is amazing and the food is to die for. My one Irish friend swears by the Halibut fish & chips!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStreetDinerNelso, General Manager at Main Street Diner, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review. I can only assume you are met by Lorence (he's about 6'8" tall?) each time you are in. He's always in for a good laugh!

I have to admit, I share your friends passion for our Halibut & Chips. Thankfully Nelson has no shortage of hills to climb to stay fit!

Hope to see you next time you're thru town trmpt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Main street diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good food, friendly service and reasonable prices. The menu was quite extensive with lots of Greek type choices. The food was excellent and sitting right on main street is a very interesting place to people watch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStreetDinerNelso, General Manager at Main Street Diner, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for your kind review.

We've always had a 'beginners menu' with only our favourite's on it stashed away for those finding it hard to decide on what to eat. We admit, our menu has too many great items to choose from.

See you when you return Reklaw252! Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Diner also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Main Street Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.