We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good, great New Years Even” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hume Hotel

Hume Hotel
422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Heritage Inn)
250 352-5331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Italian, Steakhouse, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Hume Hotel has three different food outlets to eat in that offer the same menu and a vast array of food. A family restaurant called the General Store, an intimate fireside lounge featuring live jazz called the Library Lounge or a lively, old English-style bar called Mike's Place Pub. We cook up amazing steaks, pastas, seafood, the '100 Mile Burger', sandwiches, salads and homemade desserts. We are also known for a legendary Sunday Brunch that goes from 11am - 2pm every Sunday. We are popular for our consistency, generous portions, food quality and reasonable prices all to be enjoyed in a character atmosphere that was built in 1898. There is no place like the Hume.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Mostly good, great New Years Even”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went to the Hume a fair amount during our trip. The library was very cosy in the cold weather and we as a whole family had a wonderful New Years Eve there. The staff on that particular night were great and they also helped us sort our transfer to Castlegar despite us not staying there. The fish and chips were great, plus there is a good bar next door if you fancy a game of pool or darts.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    83
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, BC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Food In a Heritage Hotel Dining Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was in Nelson with the Missus and asked her to pick the restaurant. She chose the Hume Dining Room. It was ok with me as the Hume is a heritage hotel and I am a sucker for the old wood type dining room.

The food was typical hotel dining room food but it was fresh, tasty and well prepared. My wife had a stir fry that was very good and I had bowl of French Onion Soup and a Thai Chicken salad. All were prepared in a basic way but were very tasty.

I was a little concerned with how the service would be as there was only one waitress in the dining room. However, the bartender kicked in and helped and we had quick, friendly service. The waitress even tactfully pointed out our wine choice had a touch of sweet. We knew that but it is nice she checked.

The value was decent for an evening meal in a hotel dining room. We had a bottle of wine and more tasty food than we could finish for $35 each.

The best part was live music from a guitar and bass player who played nice music and a pleasant volume. It was nice but never overpowered our conversation.

It is worth giving this restaurant a try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south slocan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“there is somewhere to eat in the West Kootenays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Sometimes it feels like there aren't any decent places to eat in the area but you can always count on the Hume Hotel, especially the Library. We recently had a group of 9 enjoy a wonderful time at the restaurant. The service was great, the presentation very good and the quality was amazing. We have also had some nice times in the Library part of the Hotel. Very cozy and relax ing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
While I am a bit surprised that you don't feel like there are too many places to eat in our area, we appreciate the favorable review of our food services. The Library Lounge is very cozy and relaxing with the nightly live jazz music and the General Store Restaurant is also quaint but offers a different atmosphere which is adored by families and large groups.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

You get free breakfast with your stay at the Hume Hotel. The breakfast menu is small but has options that should be suitable to anyone who like to have a healthy start to their day.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for reviewing our free breakfast. Typically our overnight guests are blown away by it and feel that the options are adequate. It seems as though there aren't too many places where you can order off a menu and get it just the way you like it. Our options for the free breakfast are:

1. The hot breakfast special of the day
2. Hot or Cold Cereal & Toast
3. Two eggs any style with hashbrowns, toast and choice of bacon, ham or sausage
4. The Continental Breakfast served with a fruit cup and choice of toast, pastry or muffin

Juice or coffee is also included.

If there are other special requests, we will do our best to accommodate them for you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail,CO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Might be the best in Nelson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere in the library, and we all had great meals. Salad fresh and crisp; fish and shrimp cooked perfectly. Desserts were delicious and huge. Nice guitar player in the background; not too loud so we couldn't converse. Really enjoyable experience; I highly recommend it. The prices were reasonable as well.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for considering us to be possibly 'the best in Nelson'. We are happy that you were very satisfied with everything. Not sure how we could have upped our score to a five out of five but thanks for taking the time to review our establishment. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hume Hotel also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Hume Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hume Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.