We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hume Hotel

Hume Hotel
422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Heritage Inn)
250 352-5331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 74 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Hamburgers, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Hume Hotel has three different food outlets to eat in that offer the same menu and a vast array of food. A family restaurant called the General Store, an intimate fireside lounge featuring live jazz called the Library Lounge or a lively, old English-style bar called Mike's Place Pub. We cook up amazing steaks, pastas, seafood, the '100 Mile Burger', sandwiches, salads and homemade desserts. We are also known for a legendary Sunday Brunch that goes from 11am - 2pm every Sunday. We are popular for our consistency, generous portions, food quality and reasonable prices all to be enjoyed in a character atmosphere that was built in 1898. There is no place like the Hume.
1 review
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my second visit here. .The food is excellent and the atmosphere is great. Definitely will go back on next trip. Waitress was very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    94
    23
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Spectacular Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The last week of July i was on vacation in Nelson and had been told to try the restaurant at the Hume Hotel. I am so glad i did. My server Sydney's smile just lit up the room. She was so polite, and genuinely seemed enthusiastic about making my experience there one that I would not forget. Well Sydney i will not forget, thanks for an extremely memorable evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Was really disappointed in the main dining room. Sure its a historic hotel but just walk in see it and go eat somewhere else. Food was just ok. Our server was not great. My mum asked for more extra dip and she forgot to come back to see if its possible. She forgot the entrée for the lady next to us. Her family had almost completed their meals before she ever came back to the table and noticed she didn't have a meal. The table behind us had a couple who ordered two different wines. She brought the gentleman's and forgot the lady's.

Wouldn't go back and would not recommend. Was expecting a lot more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here I want to sincerely apologize for the lack of service you received. We have a relatively new server in our restaurant that is still training and on this particular night, we gave her too many tables to properly give that excellent Hume Hotel service that we are known for. Thanks for bringing in to our attention and for giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Library Lounge was a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel has 4 areas to eat in - a lounge, a restaurant, a bar, and the patio. the patio was full (was a great summer evening), so we ate in the lounge called "the library". much of it is original to the hotel from the 1800s and it had such a historic and special feeling to it. the food was good as well (great lasagna!) and the entertainment (jazz guitar and singer) was pretty ok, but it wins on atmosphere - felt special and a good "old'. we'd go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Average breakfast with less than average service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast at the Hume on a Sunday morning. Service was very slow dispite what seemed like a large amount of staff working.
Once we finally had the opportunity to order it took over 45 minutes to receive our breakfast; this seemed like a long time for a simple breakfast in a restaurant that wasn't overly busy. The breakfast was decent but nothing spectacular.
The server promised to bring us jam and ketchup but never returned until I finally managed to flag her down to get the bill. No coffee refils either.
Overall food ok, service sub par.
Wouldn't return or recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
It appears as though your last review was ten months ago which also claimed that we are very average. I fully accept your opinion of our restaurant. It seems odd to come back and post another review saying how average we are. It borders on suspicious.

There are many other great places in Nelson to go and grab a breakfast. Next time try the Baker Street Grill, Full Circle or the Bent Fork. Don't settle for average. I would highly recommend any of these places. Try another restaurant! Variety is the spice of life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hume Hotel also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Hume Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hume Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.