We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explosion of Flavor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Max & Irma's Kitchen

Max & Irma's Kitchen
515 Kootenay St # A, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 1K9, Canada
(250) 352-2332
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Nelson
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Explosion of Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by one of the locals and we were not disappointed. We went for lunch and both of the sandwiches we had were delicious. The way the various flavors embedded in the dish complemented each other was a true pleasure. My only disappointment was that I could not return to try the butternut lasagna for dinner. Hoping I make it that way again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    23
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My fave place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Awesome food, lunch specials, love the sandwiches, salads, dressings, a full belly after, excellent service, a great place to eat, helpfull, caring staff, great flavours, one of the best places in nelson

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“OMG Mushrooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just fancied a change from rich meats and steaks so asked for a pitza recommend at the hotel we were staying at and they recommended max and irmas. My husband and I were not very hungry so shared the stuffed mushroom starter.....we were so close to ordering a second helping. Very rich but just to die for, went well with our bottle of red wine. We also shared a pitza which was equally as wonderful. Sooo tasty, ingredients were fresh and flavourful...only regret.....just wish we could have eaten more. My husband finished off with a khalua and grand mariner coffee and the smile on his face just said it all. Waitress was really nice, very helpful even to a point where she helped us name a song which we had been struggling with all day. They had a guitarist on, it was a Friday night, and he was really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“An old favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We've been visiting Max and Irma's on our visits to Nelson for 17 years now. Its become an old favourite. The room is a good size and especially when its nice enough to sit outside there is lots of room. Varied menu - always something new but some dishes are better than others. Reasonable prices. My only quibble is that the serving staff don't pay much attention to their personal appearance. Even if it is Nelson.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The building is an old funeral parlor. We thought the place should have been called Food To Die For, but they didn't take our idea.

The specials can be pretty good. The regular menu has some nice items.

Food prep is inconsistent. Service is inconsistent. I think one of the food servers never changes her clothes or combs her hair and, though pleasant, is quite scattered. But, then this IS Nelson.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max & Irma's Kitchen also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Max & Irma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max & Irma's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.