We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of K C Restaurant

K C Restaurant
546 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H9, Canada
(250) 352-5115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 74 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Thai
Restaurant details
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Food was edible but, for the price, should have been much better. The service was good. However, there were no specials on anything besides sushi and one of the $14 Szechuan entrees was simply bland. Similarly, the noodle dish didn't have much flavor. Egg roll was interesting in a good way though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, B.C.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“My kids love the sushi here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My kids love the sushi and the sweet and sour chicken balls! Be sure to check out the chalkboard for the specials as some of them have been fantastic. Larger groups will enjoy the large round tables in the back. One of our local favorites for the kids!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gingerbeef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The Gingerbeef, is awesome, sushi I loved, staff were friendly, helpfull, great location on baker street, could use half size portions, a excellent experience, was way to full afterward, excellent choice,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson B.C.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best avoided.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This restaurant offers allot of Asian choices -- the Sushi isn't bad but the servings are very small. The Chinese is best avoided. More like tasteless glue. The beef and broccoli had more carrots in it than broccoli and the beef -- well I did say avoid it didn't I? Chow mien YUK!! The Thai isn't to bad but we only tried the pad thai. Perhaps if they stuck to one type of food they might have more luck.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“What this place lacks in decor it makes up in taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have been to Nelson many times but never even briefly considered going to KC before as it looked like the stereotypical Chinese greasy spoon. We should have known that nothing in Nelson is stereotypical! But on this visit it was recommended by friends as a good place for sushi. So we went and were extremely pleased with our dinner. The restaurant was recently renovated but still looked VERY plain. The service was top notch. Few places that have a menu as extensive as this one can deliver on quality but our Japanese food dinner was about as good as it gets and very reasonably priced. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K C Restaurant also viewed

 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to K C Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K C Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.