We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curbside appeal but service is lacking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hume Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hume Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hume Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 Vernon Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Breakfast Included
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Nelson
mjh3344
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Curbside appeal but service is lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

The hotel has all the ingredients to be charming, elegant, and provide a nice stay. Although it is a bit confused in of itslef as the rooms are Victorian but the rest of the hotel is more old English pub, it is a charming 'looking' hotel.

There are several places to eat in the hotel including a lounge, a pub, and a general store restaurant, only one of which allow kids. We found the food was good if not on the expensive side. However, most of Nelson was on the expensive side. Also, the Irish gentleman who seemed to manage the food in the restaurant provided excellent service, alone.

The thing that we found most lacking about this hotel was lack of service. From the front desk, room, and the wait staff, we found that the attitude towards guests was mostly cold. I expect the front desk staff to be welcoming, be free to answer questions and point us in the right directory in a friendly manner, and also help us find kid friendly activities around the city. We found the answers to our questions hurried and impolite. In our room, we found food still in the fridge from the last guests who stayed in the room. We also had a sleeper sofa in the room that had not been changed since the last guests. Lastly, while the room had charm, the furniture was uncomfortable. The beds themselves were unacceptably uncomfortable and hurt my back.

One last thing I want to point out is that lack of care aside, this hotel is oriented towards adults only. I would not bring a young family here as there is nothing to do for children.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    95
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
132
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna Bc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

I have stayed at the Hume before. It is a Heritage Hotel and very well maintained. The rooms are clean and well kept with furniture that suits the period of the hotels build date. The floors squeak when you walk across them (which adds character) and the room is heated with a hot water vintage radiator. If you like the older style hotels that have been preserved, this is the place for you. It was a quite and comfortable sleep. If they could do one thing better, a softer mattress and thicker pillows would be my preference. The room includes a full breakfast with your stay in their dining room, which is also done with heritage furnishings. We met some people in "Mike's" Pub in the hotel which was friendly and hopping with activity. I will stay at the Hume again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

The common areas of this hotel have a lot of charm. We had dinner at the Library Room and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is in a central downtown location as well.

We had quite a few issues with our stay here however. We had to park at meter spots on the street as there were no spaces available in their small parking lot. The room had antique furniture but it didn't appear to be high quality and the room didn't exactly have a classy look. Additionally, the walls were fairly thin and we could hear our neighbors. The locks didn't have deadbolts and while it may be a generally safe hotel, it made me feel uneasy leaving certain items in our room while we were away. There was no hair dryer or iron in the room so you have to go to the front desk to borrow these items. There was also some glass and debris on the carpet in the room. Heating was also very difficult to control in the room if not impossible. There were other smaller items that seemed to fit the overall theme as described above.

While our experience wasn't miserable by any means we were definitely disappointed with our stay at the Hume. We would however go back to eat at the Library Room again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Relatives stayed at the Hume Hotel in the Spring and said they had a great time so we
decided to check it out in July. We had never been to Nelson before and had a great time in Nelson and at the Hume Hotel. When we checked in the receptionist moved us to a different room further away from the noise of the nightclub.

Pros:

Lots of character in this hotel including the rooms, hallways and throughout the hotel. Lots of old pictures reflecting the history of Nelson. Although very old the hotel was clean.

The food was very good at the restaurant and pub in the hotel, reasonably priced and the atmosphere was great.

Good location as right downtown close to other restaurants, shops and parks.

Con's

Yes, the room was hot as it was 32 degrees when we went there but there was an overhead fan and another oscillating fan in the room so we coped.

There was noise coming from the downstairs club in the evening, more actually from the parking lot as people entered and exited but we were aware of this and the fact the rooms didn't have a/c because we read this on the hotels website and the staff even mentioned this to us when we booked.

Parking is limited at the hotel and not meant for larger vehicles but there is a parkade right beside the hotel and the parking costs were reasonable.

I would think this would be a great retreat in the Spring or Fall if the heat bothers you and would recommend this time of the year for staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

and found the food to be excellent. We tried everything from Baked Brie which was delicious to Fish & Chips also very,very good.
The portions were large and prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Historic, charming and beautiful. I have found a quaint town nestled in rolling mountains, with a well preserved touch of the past and a new age youth that blend so well it's inspiring.

We stayed at the Hume Hotel downtown Nelson and WOW were we ever impressed. The restaurant had the best cabbage rolls i've ever had - really great home cooking with generous portion sizes. Richard was awesome! Thanks. One of the nicest hotels we've been in - not for all the bells and whistles but for the much desired personality that the big hotels today lack so serverly. What a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, bc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed for one night on the 4th floor, big room with huge closet and good size bathroom. We were on a motorcyle and they have ample parking for bikes.
We were checked in by Andromeda, she was awesome, friendly and very helpful.
We ate at the pub and it was great. There was a jazz band in the library restaurant as well.. looked very nice, but didn't go. This hotel is very central and close to other restaurants, which Nelson has plenty of. I think they have done a good job of keeping the hotels heritage. It was hot in our room, but they brought a fan right away when asked. There are no hair dryers or amenities, but we had our own. The rate was great and you get a free big breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hume Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel

Address: 422 Vernon Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2013 finishing touches were put on the 3rd & 4th floors. These rooms have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and Flat Screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the General Store Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hume Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hume Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.