We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hume Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hume Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hume Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 Vernon Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Breakfast Included
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Nelson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were on a touring trip of the Kootneys and stopped in Nelson for the night without a reservation. The Hume is really quaint so we thought we'd give it a chance. The town was really busy busy but we managed to get a room. They showed us the newly renovated Lady Bird Suite and we were hooked. They even knocked $30 off the rate. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Comfortable beds. Modern amenities. A pleasant surprise for weary travelers.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    96
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
41
132
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here two nights toward the end of our two and a half week trip in the Canadian Rockies. We had a remodeled room and it was exquisite. Large, comfortable room with lots of bathroom space including a walk in shower. They have gone to great lengths to maintain or recreate the original charm. It has a pub (the library) and a night club (Mike's Place) as well as a dining room. We had a good time in both the Library and Mike's Place but the dining room was a dissapointment as we had a "special dinner" there and it was mediocre at best. Enjoy the Lbrary and Mike's but go somewhere else for dining. Their complimentary breakfast was a treat as it was served and always included a "special" which was a different omelet each day.

Room Tip: Request a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Hume over the years and we love this historic hotel and all the charm that comes with it. Every staff member was friendly. The rooms on the 4th floor have been renovated very well , melding the old charm with modern conveniences. We know about the night club, so we just bring ear plugs. We didn't hear the sold out band on Saturday night.
This hotel is located right in the heart of Nelson so you can just walk .
Breakfast is included and it is excellent. An added bonus : Osso Negro coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, B.C. Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I booked the hotel online, chose a room NOT above the night club but found out AFTER the night my wife and I was there that I in fact was over the night club. IT WAS LOUD. All the conversations I could over hear at breakfast and in the lobby were about how loud the noise was at night.

I phoned the hotel after I booked and they said they couldn't do anything since I booked online (even though I booked through their website directly and not over the phone). I wish I would have booked through Expedia as I'm sure they would have taken care of me after this mess up. Would I stay again there? Probably not, even if it was during the week because it seems they weren't interested in making this bad situation more palatable by some form of compensation or reimbursement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We apologize that you did not get a good sleep. We have a popular concert venue and pub in our hotel and we don't hide that fact. We tell all our guests that when they phone in. If you book online you will see in your confirmation that was emailed to you that we mention this very clearly. The Hume Hotel simply isn't for everyone.

It's for travelers that want a real unique, historic experience. It's for travelers that value the best free breakfast you could ask for. It's for travelers that like being in the heart of the action, downtown one block from historic Baker Street. It is for travelers that covet great food and beverage right downstairs and for those who love to simply take the elevator home after enjoying many of the fine eating and drinking establishments that our fine city offers. It's for people that may want to pay a little more for a beautifully renovated suite that has character.

If a simple, clean and quiet hotel with ample parking and no surprises is what you are after, a hotel like the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn may be far more in line with what you value and what you need for accommodations. The choice is yours.

Again, I truly apologize that your experience left you feeling dissatisfied. We do have rooms that are quieter and anyone who phones in will have more of a personal touch in deciding what room is right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This made our third visit to the Hume Hotel over the past three years. We stay here during the Queens City Car show. This is the perfect place to be. The staff is super friendly but not imposing. We ate all our meals in the hotel and all were terrific. The complimentary breakfast is very tasty and filling.
We added an extra day this year just to go exploring. We visited Kaslo and then went to the Garlic Festival. Hume Hotel was was ideal for a BC get away. While they don't take reservations for Friday and Saturday night, we did learn you can make reservations for Sunday dinner and you should. They had a male vocalist whose volume and tunes were perfect for a quiet, relaxing dinner. We have never been disappointed with their large menu selections and quality.All the wait staff we encountered were excellent. They work nicely as a team.
The upgraded rooms still have that quaint feeling but offer upgraded amenities. We have already booked for next year. We travel quite a bit and this is our favorite hotel. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
The staff, the accommodations, the music and the food. You covered it all. Thank you. Four great reasons to stay here. I hope you were able to check out the annual Rooftop Shaker dance party that goes on atop of the roof of the city parkade adjacent to us every year on Road Kings Queen City Cruise weekend. We will definitely see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Hume a number of times over the last 20 years. Although we have tried different properties,we always find ourselves back at the Hume. Our positive experience with the Hume started the minute we reserved our 3 night stay when we were informed that the hotel is also home to a pub & nightclub. a great heads up to ensure the Hume is your type of stay before hand. For our latest visit, we were lucky enough to find ourselves on the newly renovated 4th floor. The owners have done a fantastic job of maintaining the heritage feel with the renos, we absolutey loved the heritage photos and murals- The little boy rowing the boat gave us a daily reason to smile. Thank goodness there are some quirks you can't renovate out of a 100 year old property... the tilt of the floors have you walking "up hill" from the door to the window and a quick look at the bottom of the furniture confirms you aren't imagining things. Our room contained a single Queen bed and for a heritage building, was surprisingly roomy. Included in the cost of the room is a complimentary hot breakfast served to you. As someone who regularly leaves out the "do not disturb" sign to prevent daily housekeeping service, I appreciated the option to opt out of housekeeping service in exchange for a $5 credit in the hotel. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: 4th floor & half the 3rd floor are newly renovated and have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Yes we certainly cherish our sloping hallways. The slope of those floorboards took 115 years to bend and sway the way that they do. It's a unique feeling and refreshing departure from many of the cookie-cutter branded properties that you see out there today.

We now offer a food and beverage credit that can be used in any of our facilities should you decline housekeeping. This program has been very well-received by our guests.

Thanks for staying at the historic Hume Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Beautifully restored building.
Room was upgraded, modern and beautiful.
Every staff member we dealt with was genuinely friendly.
Housekeeping especially.
Great bar called the Library.
Location was great, view of the river and just a block from the small but very quaint shopping area of town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hume Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel

Address: 422 Vernon Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2013 finishing touches were put on the 3rd & 4th floors. These rooms have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and Flat Screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the General Store Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hume Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hume Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.