We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hume Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hume Hotel to your Saves list
Hume Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 Vernon Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Full Hot Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is so well restored - every detail is well-done. Most hotels are 'redone' and the work is cheap and poorly done, this hotel didn't miss a beat in the finishings. The walls are also adorned with great giant historic pictures. Had a great stay with so much to see and do in the hotel alone. Would definitely stay here again. Has BC's oldest elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that have a view. Our windows looked onto the alley so they were frosted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Some of the windows that face in towards the middle of the property have been frosted since we didn't feel that it boasted much of a view. I would agree that when you are booking, try to get one of the newly renovated Deluxe Rooms that face outwards for the best views. Thanks for staying with us and for giving us a glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    115
    27
    13
    10
See reviews for
52
171
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our group of seven motorcyclist spent the night here on our travels through BC. What a treat it was to experience a historic gem that has been renovated with exquisite detail. All the staff members were exceptional especially the night manager who went way out of his way to accommodate us. Thanks for a wonderful and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I recently traveled to Nelson for a wedding and stayed at the Hume. My stay was exceptional from the newly renovated Ladybird Suite (amazing) to the super friendly and helpful staff, etc. I would highly recommend anyone visiting Nelson to stay at the Hume.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a good stay in the historic Hume Hotel in lovely Nelson in one of the renovated fourth floor rooms. The room was lovely, quiet and cool. No noise from the downstairs club. Excellent breakfast included as part of the package. Really appreciated the very friendly staff, especially wait staff and housekeeping staff. Puzzled about parking not being included in the nearby city parkade, although it was easy to park for free. My only caveat is that overall it is slightly pricey, my room rate was $170 plus tax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a gem. Heritage hotel (built in 1898). We stayed in a renovated room on the top floor (4th floor) which was beautifully done. Very comfortable bed. The hotel has a restaurant, lounge and pub. Food was excellent! Lounge had live jazz on a Wed night. Pub had trivia night. It's a happening place so it may be a bit noisy for some. Walls are very thin in hotel room. Parking is very limited. Other than that - great! The positives more than outweigh any small negatives.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you come back to these parts some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just got back from a one night stay at the Hume. We stayed in one of their newly renovated rooms and were quite pleased with everything. This hotel is a nice little gem but parking was woefully inadequate. We had to pay in a lot down the street. Make sure you visit Mikes Place pub in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Yes parking is an issue in the entire City of Nelson. We have a small parking lot and during the summer it is often full. Luckily we are situated right next to the City Parkade which offers reasonable overnight rates. In addition, you can park for free on any of the meters from 5pm to 9am every day and free all day on Sunday.

We are glad you were pleased with one of our newly renovated rooms. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Beautiful newly renovated air conditioned rooms, excellent location, top notch service in all establishments.... AMAZING HOTEL!! This hotel has everything you need plus you receive a full hot breakfast each and every morning you stay. Lounge with live music just off the lobby, family dining, Mike's Place Pub - great spot to watch sporting events, cold beer and wine store and then to top it off there is night club down stairs - Spirit Bar. With your room being located in the hotel, you don't have far to wander... ever! Oh and just steps away from Baker Street.

Room Tip: If you are staying on a weekend and don't want to be bothered by part goers - ask for a room sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hume Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel

Address: 422 Vernon Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2013 finishing touches were put on the 3rd & 4th floors. These rooms have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and Flat Screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the General Store Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hume Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hume Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.