We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would eat there again but not stay there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hume Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hume Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hume Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 Vernon Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Breakfast Included
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Nelson
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I would eat there again but not stay there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The restaurant was nice, and the food was excellent, and reasonably priced for a hotel. The room included breakfast was also definitely above average.

Sadly the room did not live up to these standards. The room was nothing special, and because of this we think it is overpriced for what it is. The room had a lack of basic amenities, which we have had in every hotel/motel we stayed in on our tour of BC.

These being no air conditioning, (this is mentioned when you book), no black out curtains which meant at 6am the room is full of light. The window blinds did little to mask the light. There was also no hairdryer, no tea and coffee facilities, no iron. Thankfully we only stayed one night.

Its on old building, the décor reflects this, that is not the problem, it’s the lack of basic facilities that was disappointing given the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    97
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
41
134
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

The Martin family have this stunning Kootenay icon running like a top. All must experience the history, service and flavours of this top-notch accommodator.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hume hotel for two nights during our ski trip to Nelson.

The hotel delivers on its bill as a character hotel. Our standard room was on the top floor and was quiet at night. The furnishing is styled to match the hotel's vintage and is adequate. Not really a place I would want to spend much time, but this suited our stay just fine.

Not really set up to accommodate skiers/snowboarders as there isn't really anywhere to store your equipment. You have to take it up to your room or leave it in your vehicle, but we were absolutely fine with taking it to our room where we could keep an eye on it.

There is free parking in an uncovered lot right beside the hotel.

The included breakfast was good value, with a limited hot breakfast menu. There is also a full-featured menu available for extra cost.

Overall, a solid pick in Nelson. I would definitely stay there again as a couple. Whether you choose the Hume or not, make sure you go to Mike's Place Pub in the basement of the hotel, its a great spot to apres.

Room Tip: The 4th floor rooms were quiet and are elevator accessed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humehotel, Manager at Hume Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for the review. I am not sure why you didn't think there was any place to store your gear as we have a fairly spacious storage locker for skis, bikes, boards, etc. on our main floor in the lobby. I am sorry if you were misinformed. We are a great choice for active guests such as skiers throughout the year largely because we can accommodate them well by taking care of these types of needs. The free breakfast is always a bonus and mid-week our kitchen opens at 6:30am so everyone can get on their way. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Our family of 4 had a great 3 night stay (with Dog). The large 2 queen room with breakfast was excellent value. For a historic town like Nelson its great to be in the thick of the town. We walked to shopping and dinner, biked to the beach and mountain biked some amazing trails right from the Hume Hotel. Rooms have the character of a 100+ year old hotel, not fancy but basic clean and comfortable. No AC so on a hot day rooms are warm, but have fans.
Our 11 year old's hotel food review:
Cajun wings are delicious, chocolate moose is light and chocolatey and eggs benny also gets a big thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Mike's Place Pub is the place to be. Always great food and beverages, and the friendliest staff in town. Have a few pints in the pub or the Library Lounge and head down to the Spirit Bar for some late nite dance moves.

And Hume to Go. Hume to the Home. All the classic Hume eats (and drinks) delivered right to your door. Love this service. Can't get enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I always use Tripadvisor to find hotels, but I was disappointed by the Hume Hotel rating and it's overall shape. The room was VERY clean, but the hall to get to the room was spongy, old carpet with an odor. It definitely takes away from the room. I'm hoping this part of this historic hotel is due for the next update.The Library was great for playing cards, late dessert and live Jazz, but wouldn't be able to take children (and there is no space or table to play in the room). The restaurant food was very good. Unfortunately the kitchen fan exhaust was below our room and made our room smell like steak (not a bad smell, but unwanted for hours). Very limited parking. Hotel room with 2Q was $129 (not including tax). The best was the beautifully restored Library Bar and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I visited Nelson for a two night stay and picked the Hume Hotel for it's central location. We were aware that the hotel dates from 1898 and expected a cozy experience rather than upscale. Our room was large, clean and surprisingly quiet though a bit more on the dated side than the website pictures show.

The staff were always helpful and cheery. At the time of booking we were advised that air conditioning was not an option, but fans were provided. Thankfully we did not suffer a heat wave during our stay but we would have coped.

The parking lot is very small, but we managed to find a space both nights - though we were there on a Monday-Tuesday (don't know how this would be on a weekend). We enjoyed the breakfast both days, sampling poached eggs, bacon and toast, the omelette and the continental breakfast with pastry. The coffee was hot and tasty, eggs were done to perfection and the fruit salad was fresh - being included in the room charge I would give it a thumbs up for value!

If our travels take us back to Nelson we would stay at the Hume again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hume Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel

Address: 422 Vernon Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2013 finishing touches were put on the 3rd & 4th floors. These rooms have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and Flat Screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the General Store Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hume Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hume Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.