We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property - Great Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blaylock Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Blaylock Mansion to your Saves list
The Blaylock Mansion
1679 Hwy 3A | P.O. Box 491, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 5R3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Property - Great Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have stayed here now our 5th time in the summer and have never had anything but excellent service and amazing food. Dan & Louise are always ready to take care of anything you may need or just have a good conversation about the area, property, etc. Louise makes amazing, unique breakfasts (not the premaid, microwave meals at most hotels) and always has personal touches added to them. The Gardens, oh my! you dont find this kind of architecture anywhere, anymore, truly old world design and unique! Our kids love the pool, the tennis courts and walking directly across the property to the lake. For the family, the couple, or whomever decides to stay, this is truly a special place we will continue to come back to, cant wait until next year!

Room Tip: The mountain side rooms have their own bathrooms and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Blaylock 3 nights the gardens and grounds are awesome and the pool and accomodations are nice . In three days we did not have a breakfast with any meat in it meatlovers beware the food was ok but not great. The hosts are very nice and accommodating

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This was an unexpected gem. I can't believe there are not any other reviews here. Perhaps because they do not list on the major booking sites and you need to call or email directly to get a room. Trust me, it is worth a call! A maticulously maintained 1937 mansion with great rooms and a full hot breakfast comes with the room. The terraced gardens surrounding this estate are a sight to behold, not to mention the seasonal outdoor pool Wonderful hosts and a great place to stay when near Nelson.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonny Doon, Calif
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2005

This might be a pretty place, but the gentleman who owns it lacks good manners. I stopped to inquire about the accommodations and he seemed very put-upon, appeared to resent my being there at 10:30 in the morning, somehow lost a phone call on his portable, used a choice Anglo Saxon swear word, and acted like I was a problem. Perhaps I was at that particular moment, but I didn't mean to be. I was well dressed, had money burning a hole in my pocket, and was driving a clean, late-model luxury SUV, not that any of this should make a difference. The biggest affront was refusing to allow us to walk through his garden. No where in any brochure or guidebook does it explain about the $20 garden tour fee. (Yes, we could get a $40 credit when we booked a room.) Needless to say, my husband and I couldn't leave fast enough. There are some friendly places just down the highway in Nelson. This was our only negative experience in an otherwise thoroughly wonderful trip in southern British Columbia.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2005

This breathtaking mansion is the most amazing place I have ever stayed at. The room was beautifully decorated in an oriental style. I was told that all the other rooms were decorated with a different theme. The rock garden is huge and it is an awesome sight. It could use some maintainance, otherwise it is beautiful. There is a six foot tall sundial, arbors made of vines, lovely waterfalls, etc. I love old buildings and their history. This house was built in the early 1900's by a wealthy business man who owned the smelt mine in the area. My husband and I wished we could have stayed longer. We had a lot of fun playing billiards and we watched a movie on the big screen TV. The living room and sun room were nice and bright. The breakfast in the morning was very good.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blaylock Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blaylock Mansion

Address: 1679 Hwy 3A | P.O. Box 491, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 5R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blaylock Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blaylock Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.