We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louie's Steakhouse and Lounge

Louie's Steakhouse and Lounge
616 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4G1, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 74 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A distinctly metropolitan culinary experience, in historic Nelson's bustling downtown. Whether it's an intimate evening for two, or a casual gathering amongst friends, Louie's is sure to provide an experience you won't soon forget.Specializing in signature steaks, specialty pastas, rustic thin crust pizza, and FRESH seafood, Louie's Steakhouse offers the finest quality food, and exemplary service in an area of abundant comfort.Executive Chef Adam Duff has created a dining experience focusing on regional products, and in season ingredients. We off only the finest cuts of premium aged beef, along with a menu featuring a diverse selection of appetizers, entrees and accompaniments that is sure to tantalize the most refined of palates.Our liquid chefs have created an impeccable cast of martinis -- 28 in all, and an impressive selection of signaure cocktails. Our extensive wine list focuses on wines from the region, with a bit of international flair. Not to mention award-winning Nelson Brewing Company lagers and ales on tap, and fine premium spirits.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hailing from the East Coast, my husband and I were super impressed with the quality of seafood in both the pasta and surf & turf. It tasted very fresh and both our meals exceeded expectations. The service was great too. We visit Nelson frequently so I know we'll be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stopped in for a quick dinner, everything is very appealing on their menu. My friend and I had the best fettuccine Alfredo of our lives, totally recommend.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food after golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Most restaurants were closed on a busy bank holiday weekend in Nelson and the town was full of people looking for places to eat!!! We finally found that Louies was open. Originally looking for pizza we had the choice of other food rather than steak. The food we had was hot and well presented and tasted great, service was good and we didn't have to wait forever. We will go back again and remember that they stay open over a very busy weekend, and inform other people of that fact. The opnly change I would suggets is that they put the restaurant to the front where the view is and the lounge/bar to the rear, it was kind of dark!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“First class experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was our first time ever dining in Louie's (had been in once for a martini in the past) and i have to say i was blown away by our experience. The food was incredible and the service was flawless, that perfect balance of polished yet casual (not really a big fan of pretentious places). We'll definately be back next summer, keep up the good work guys and thanks again for a great night!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“Pizza, Pizza, Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We ate at Louie's on a beautiful summer evening. Great food, great atmosphere and great service. The pizzas were spectacular and the service was even better. There is a great wine selection and the patio provides great lake views. We will be back!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie's Steakhouse and Lounge also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Louie's Steakhouse and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louie's Steakhouse and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.