We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great highlight from a fantastic town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson's Hole & Grill

Jackson's Hole & Grill
524 Vernon Street | V1L 4E7, Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great highlight from a fantastic town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Simply put, we got 5 star service, food, and atmosphere without spending a tonne. We stopped for lunch during a short stay in the area. The waiter was great and gave excellent advice on where to stay and what to do. The menu had something for everyone and the food was fast and delicious. The patio was beautiful and the atmosphere was charming and a lot of fun. We'll be back next summer and this will be our first stop guaranteed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJManager, Owner at Jackson's Hole & Grill, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Nelson and to Jackson's Hole & Grill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    40
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“better quality than we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

For some reason we assumed we were entering "just another pub" for a fairly typical pub meal. Instead we found great food and a creative menu served by staff that seemed to really like what they were doing! We travel through this area a couple of times a year and this place will definitely be on our list of places to revisit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Girls lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Me and my girlfriends were in Nelson BC for the Bridal fair at the Prestige Lakeside resort and were driving around looking for a lunch spot we had not tried! We came across Jacksons hole and grill and decided to try it out! The food was fabulous pub style food and the service was great!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
1 review
“So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good steak sandwich, atmosphere. Pretty bad selection of beer on tap, almost unbearable actually, which is one of the reasons I dont come here often. No NBC or good IPAs / Pilsners and they offer the same gross Stanley Park ale that they do at other places in town. Anyways the last time we went the server forgot to bring cutlery, when asked for it she flailed again and didnt return. We grabbed it ourselves 10 minutes later. Then I ordered a beer and waited 10-15 minuts until I noticed it just sitting at the bar waiting to get sent to us.. we grabbed that ourselves too. The night wasn't even busy, she was chatting away to her friends. Aside from that, have some great service here too and the food, although not very original is pretty good and can be depended on. It is an OK place with good atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJManager, Owner at Jackson's Hole & Grill, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
While I feel as though I must apologize for the lack of service you experienced on your last visit, I also feel I must respond to your comments as well.
Service is something we take very seriously, and I assure you I will speak to the entire staff to ensure this does not happen again.
As for the beer lineup you are so offended by, first off let me tell you that we do have an NBC on tap, and have had at least one since the day we opened 8 years ago. We also offer a selection of their beer in the bottle, including the Paddywack IPA. Unfortunately you do not enjoy the Stanley Park Amber Ale, but it is hugely successful for us, and is continuing to grow in popularity.
Please feel free in the future to speak to me personally if your service is not acceptable, or if there is something you would like us to try as far as beer selection goes. It will prove far more effective than this method.
Hope you will try us again and we can provide you with a more positive food and beverage experience.
CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Nelson Must Do! ....and Redo!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Whole place has a great vibe, great staff, where you feel welcome from the time you walk through the door.
Simply loved this place, the food and staff, followed their recommendations....and they were spot on! Clive and his wife really run a fantastic fun lively spot!
If you're in Nelson stop by!
Cheers

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson's Hole & Grill also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Jackson's Hole & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson's Hole & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.